What is umbilical cord blood?

Long considered biological waste, the blood in the umbilical cord is now recognized as a valuable source of stem cells.

Stem cells from umbilical cord blood can be used to improve the treatments offered to people whose own bone marrow and stem cells responsible for producing blood cells (red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets) do not function properly or to those who are suffering from certain malignant blood diseases such as leukemia, anemia and bone marrow aplasia (lack of bone marrow function).

Umbilical cord blood is an advantageous therapeutic option for individuals weighing less than 50 kg who need a bone marrow transplant.

Public Cord Blood Bank

Héma-Québec manages the only Public cord blood bank in Québec. It is the second public bank of this type in Canada; there are approximately 40 public cord blood banks worldwide.

Our Public Cord Blood Bank aims to make stem cells from cord blood a public resource and provide an optimal-quality supply that meets the needs of patients waiting for a stem cell transplant.

The Public Cord Blood Bank provides access to a complementary source of stem cells, other than those available in bone marrow and peripheral blood, and it is part of the Stem Cell Donor Registry that we are managing.

Cord blood is collected at Héma-Québec’s partner hospitals with the consent of the mothers who have registered with the Public cord blood bank. The cord blood is collected from the umbilical cord once it has been cut, after the birth of the child. This type of collection, which is less invasive than bone marrow collection, poses no danger to either the mother or child. If this cord blood is not collected, it is discarded as biomedical waste, as is the placenta.

The umbilical cord blood collected is treated and tested in our laboratories where we check its safety and quality. If the cord blood sample meets all of the standards, we will freeze it until it is needed by a stem cell transplant candidate. Cord blood has a lifespan of at least 10 years when frozen.

The umbilical cord blood donations that do not qualify for the Bank will be stored at the CHU mère-enfant Sainte-Justine, at the Royal Victoria Hospital Clinical Research Cord Blood Bank and at the CHUQ mère-enfant Reshearch Centre for research purposes if the mothers involved give their consent.

Qu'est-ce que le sang de cordon ombilical?

Longuement considéré comme un déchet biologique, le sang contenu dans le cordon ombilical est reconnu aujourd’hui pour sa richesse en cellules souches.

Les cellules souches issues du sang de cordon ombilical permettent d’améliorer les traitements offerts aux personnes souffrant d’un mauvais fonctionnement de la moelle osseuse et des cellules souches responsables de la fabrication des globules rouges, globules blancs et plaquettes; de maladies sanguines malignes comme la leucémie, l’anémie et l’aplasie médullaire (absence de fonction de la moelle osseuse).

Le sang de cordon est une option thérapeutique avantageuse pour les personnes pesant moins de 50 kg, nécessitant une greffe de cellules souches.

Banque publique de sang de cordon

Héma-Québec gère la seule banque publique de sang de cordon au Québec. Il s’agit de la deuxième banque publique de ce type au Canada, et il existe environ 40 banques publiques de sang de cordon à l’échelle mondiale.

Notre Banque publique de sang de cordon vise à faire des cellules souches issues de sang de cordon une ressource collective et à fournir un approvisionnement de qualité optimale correspondant aux besoins des malades en attente d’une greffe de ces cellules.

La Banque publique de sang de cordon donne accès à une source complémentaire de cellules souches autre que la moelle osseuse et le sang périphérique, et fait partie intégrante du Registre de donneurs de cellules souches  que nous gérons.

Le don de sang de cordon est prélevé aux hôpitaux partenaires d’Héma-Québec sur autorisation des mères qui se sont inscrites à la Banque. Le sang de cordon est prélevé après la naissance de l’enfant, du cordon ombilical une fois sectionné. Ce prélèvement, moins invasif que dans le cas du don de moelle osseuse, est sans danger aucun tant pour la mère que pour l’enfant. Si le sang de cordon n’est pas prélevé, il est jeté comme un déchet biomédical, au même titre que le placenta.

Le sang prélevé est ensuite traité et testé dans nos laboratoires où l’on s’assure de son innocuité et de sa qualité. Si le don de sang de cordon répond parfaitement aux normes, nous le congelons, et il devient alors disponible pour un candidat à une greffe de cellules souches. Le sang de cordon a une durée de vie d’au moins dix ans sous congélation.

Les dons de sang de cordon qui ne se qualifient pas pour la Banque, sont conservés au CHU mère-enfant Sainte-Justine, à la banque clinico-recherche de sang de cordon du CHU Royal Victoria et au centre de recherce du CHU mère- enfant du CHUQ  pour fins de recherche, si les mères concernées y consentent.