Background

Krever Commission report tabled

In the wake of the contaminated blood scandal that erupted in the early 90s, the Commission of Inquiry on the Blood System in Canada, chaired by Mr. Justice Horace Krever, released its preliminary report in February 1995. Although the report reassured Canadians by stating that, "The Canadian blood system is as safe as that of all other industrialized countries but it is weak," it contained no fewer than fifty recommendations for all stakeholders to improve the safety of the blood management system.

Because the final report of the Krever Commission required more time to complete than expected, the provincial health ministers created committees to plan a new blood management system in Canada.

Gélineau Committee created

In Québec, the Gélineau Committee was made up of stakeholders representing hospitals, public health, doctors and the blood component supplier.

The Gélineau Committee held deliberations and hearings in summer 1996. From the outset, blood bank managers told Committee members that they had no concerns about the Red Cross Transfusion Services in Québec. The Gélineau Committee report, which was released in November 1996, made recommendations with respect in particular to the problems related to blood banks in hospitals. The Committee agreed that responsibilities should be given back to the appropriate authorities and it recommended three levels of accountability within the blood management system:

  • A supplier that was responsible and accountable for product quality;
  • Hospitals and their doctors should be responsible for transfusions;
  • A hemovigilance committee should be responsible for monitoring public health with respect to blood management and supply. The Committee reported to the Minister of Health and Social Services.

Withdrawal of the Red Cross

Between November 1996 and summer 1997, Health Minister Jean Rochon clearly stated his hope that the Red Cross Transfusion Services would continue to ensure the blood supply in Québec. However, the Red Cross announced in August 1997 that it was relinquishing all control over Canada's blood program as of September 1998. Despite Rochon's attempts to urge the Red Cross to carry on in this area in Québec, the organization maintained its decision.

Mr. Rochon was then faced with two options: to join the new blood supplier about to be created in Canada under the name of "Canadian Blood Services," or to create an entirely new local supplier.

Creation of Héma-Québec

On the heels of the publication of the Gélineau Report and in light of the Minister's goal of bridging the gap between the blood component supplier and Québec's health system, Mr. Rochon announced the creation of a local supplier in Québec, to be known as Héma-Québec, in March 1998.

Héma-Québec was incorporated as a non-profit organization on March 26, 1998, and subsequently governed by special legislation, Bill 438, adopted by the National Assembly on June 20, 1998.

With respect to the safety of the blood supply, Héma-Québec is a national organization. Indeed, as of September 1989 and within the meaning of the law, blood is considered a drug, and as such, regulated by Health Canada through its Therapeutic Products Program and its Bureau of Biologics and Radiopharmaceuticals (now called Blood Establishment Regulation Division - BERD). As a result, the federal government stipulates the standards that must be met in order to ensure the safety of the blood supply in Canada. The government therefore issues operating licences to blood product suppliers and conducts licence audits annually, or more frequently, if necessary. Héma-Québec's operating licence number is 100862.

A community-oriented organization

Moreover, Héma-Québec, through its Board of Directors, is a community-focused agency. In fact, the Board represents all stakeholders in the transfusion chain, from donor to recipient. It includes representatives of blood donation volunteers, doctors who perform transfusions in hospitals, hospital administrators, public health, academic institutions, the business community and recipients.

The Board of Directors is assisted by three advisory committees with respect to:

  • Risk and safety management of the blood supply.
  • Medical and scientific matters.
  • Liaison with recipients.

These committees will allow the Board of Directors to solicit the opinions of completely independent groups of experts.

Stem Cell Donor Registry 

In addition to its activities as a blood component supplier, Héma-Québec has set up and manages Québec’s Stem Cell Donor Registry: a computerized bank containing the names of Quebecers who could eventually agree to a stem cell donation. This registry is linked to the Canadian registry as well as international registries, which enables to look for an unrelated donor for a patient on an international scale. Since 2004, Héma-Québec also manages the only public cord blood bank in Québec, part of the Stem Cell Donor Registry.

Processing and distribution of human tissues

In addition, in autumn 2001, the Minister of Health and Social Services confirmed the necessity of applying strict quality and safety standards to the various treatments performed on human tissue. Thus, recognizing Héma-Québec’s competence in the treatment and distribution of human tissues, the Minister authorized Héma-Québec to expand its activities in this area. On December 18, 2001, the Centre de conservation de tissus humains du Québec joined Héma-Québec.

Historique

Dépôt du rapport de la commission Krever

Dans le sillage du scandale du sang contaminé qui a éclaté au début des années 90, la Commission d'enquête sur l'approvisionnement en sang au Canada, présidée par le juge Horace Krever, a déposé son rapport provisoire en février 1995. Si ce rapport rassurait les Canadiens en affirmant que « le système canadien du sang est aussi sécuritaire que celui de tous les autres pays industrialisés, mais il est fragile », il n'en comprenait pas moins d'une cinquantaine de recommandations pour tous les intervenants et visait à améliorer la sécurité du système de gestion du sang.

Le rapport final de la commission Krever ayant pris plus de temps que prévu à être rendu public, les ministres de la Santé des provinces mettent sur pied des comités pour planifier un nouveau système de gestion du sang au Canada.

Formation du comité Gélineau

Au Québec, le comité Gélineau sera mis sur pied et il sera composé d'intervenants représentant les hôpitaux, la santé publique, les médecins et le fournisseur de composants sanguins.

Le comité Gélineau tient ses discussions et consultations à l'été 1996. D'entrée de jeu, les directeurs des banques de sang informent les membres du comité qu'ils n'ont aucun problème avec les activités des Services transfusionnels de la Croix-Rouge au Québec. Le comité Gélineau dépose son rapport en novembre 1996 dans lequel il fait un certain nombre de recommandations touchant, entre autres, les problèmes des banques de sang dans les hôpitaux. Le comité s'entend à l'effet de redonner les responsabilités aux instances auxquelles elles devraient appartenir et il recommande trois niveaux d'imputabilité à l'intérieur du système de gestion du sang:

  • Un fournisseur responsable et imputable de la qualité du produit;
  • L'hôpital et ses médecins responsables de l'acte transfusionnel;
  • Un comité d'hémovigilance responsable de la surveillance de la santé publique en matière d'approvisionnement et de gestion du système de sang. Ce comité fait rapport au ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux.

Retrait de la Croix-Rouge

De novembre 1996 à l'été 1997, le ministre de la santé, M. Jean Rochon, avait clairement indiqué qu'il désirait que les Services transfusionnels de la Croix-Rouge continuent d'assurer l'approvisionnement en sang au Québec. Toutefois, la Croix-Rouge annonce, en août 1997, qu'elle se retire complètement du programme du sang au Canada et ce, à compter de septembre 1998. Malgré les tentatives du ministre Rochon pour qu'elle demeure dans ce secteur d'activité au Québec, la Croix-Rouge maintient sa décision.

Le ministre Rochon a alors deux options : se joindre au nouveau fournisseur de sang qui est à se former au Canada et qui s'appelle alors « Les Services canadiens du sang » ou créer un tout nouveau fournisseur local.

Création d'Héma-Québec

Dans la foulée du rapport Gélineau et compte tenu de la volonté du ministre de rapprocher le fournisseur de composants sanguins du système de santé du Québec, le ministre annonce en mars 1998 la mise sur pied d'un fournisseur local au Québec appelé Héma-Québec.

Héma-Québec a été constituée comme société à but non lucratif le 26 mars 1998 et a, par la suite, été encadrée par une loi spéciale, la loi 438 entérinée à l'Assemblée nationale le 20 juin 1998.

En matière de sécurité de l'approvisionnement, Héma-Québec est une organisation nationale. En effet, le sang est au sens de la loi une drogue depuis septembre 1989 et à ce titre, le sang est réglementé par Santé Canada. Dans ce sens, c'est le fédéral qui dicte les normes à rencontrer pour assurer la sécurité de l'approvisionnement sanguin au Canada. Pour ce faire, il émet des permis d'exploitation et il maintient ses permis par des audits annuels ou plus fréquents, si nécessaire, chez les fabricants de produits sanguins.

Une organisation tournée vers la communauté

Par ailleurs, Héma-Québec est aussi une organisation tournée vers la communauté par son conseil d'administration. En effet, son conseil d'administration représente les intervenants de la chaîne transfusionnelle entre le donneur et le receveur : il est composé de représentants des bénévoles du don de sang, des médecins transfuseurs dans les hôpitaux, des administrations hospitalières, de la santé publique, du milieu académique, du milieu des affaires et des receveurs.

Le conseil d'administration est aidé par trois comités consultatifs :

  • Le comité consultatif sur la gestion des risques et la sûreté de l'approvisionnement;
  • Le comité consultatif médical et scientifique;
  • Le comité de liaison avec les receveurs.

Ces comités permettront au conseil d'administration d'obtenir les opinions de groupes d'experts complètement indépendants.

Registre des donneurs de cellules souches

En plus de ses activités à titre de fournisseur de produits sanguins, Héma-Québec compose et gère le Registre de donneurs de cellules souches pour le Québec : une banque informatisée contenant les noms de Québécoises et de Québécois qui pourraient éventuellement consentir à donner de leurs cellules souches pour un malade. Celui-ci est relié au Registre canadien ainsi qu'à des registres internationaux, ce qui permet de rechercher un donneur non apparenté pour un malade à l’échelle internationale. Héma-Québec gère par ailleurs depuis 2004 la seule banque publique de sang de cordon au Québec, partie intégrante du Registre des donneurs de cellules souches.

Ajout du traitement et de la distribution de tissus humains

Par ailleurs, à l'automne 2001, le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux confirmait la nécessité d'appliquer des normes de qualité et de sécurité rigoureuses sur les différents traitements effectués sur les tissus humains. Ainsi, reconnaissant la compétence d'Héma-Québec dans le traitement et la distribution de tissus humains, le ministre autorisait Héma-Québec à étendre ses activités dans ce domaine. Le 18 décembre 2001, le Centre de conservation de tissus humains du Québec se joint à Héma-Québec.