JÉRÉMY PLOURDE THE STORY OF A CHAMPION!

Héma-Québec provides for the needs of recipients, no matter who they are. Sometimes it implies an emergency delivery of huge quantities of packed red blood cells to a patient in an operating room; in other cases, a specialized product must be delivered over a long period of time. Jérémy’s story illustrates the second scenario. His is a life lesson about courage. It’s the story of a champion!

It’s not even seven o’clock, but he can’t wait any longer. At age six, in fact, time always seems too long… “So, did they win?” he eagerly asks his parents who are still half asleep. “And Kovalev, did he score?” From his room, his older brother Samuel answers him with loud enthusiasm, “Yes, he scored two goals, and one of them was the winning goal!”

Jérémy Plourde is still too young to watch a game of the Canadien up to the end. Especially during the playoffs, when games end in overtime. Yet, his young age doesn’t prevent him from being one of the biggest fans of the Russian star player. And just like his hero, he intends to live fully. His head overflows with projects and he wants to accomplish them now.
Like many boys, Jérémy loves hockey. Dynamic and full of energy, he plays his favourite sport for a hockey team called the Gouverneurs of Ste-Foy-Sillery. His equipment however, is off-limits for everyone; and it would be inconceivable for him to borrow a friend’s equipment.

Nothing bad is intended by this of course, it’s actually quite the opposite. Jérémy is very sensitive to infections. Every day, he faces having to manage a very rare illness: a humoral complex immune deficiency. In the changing room, everyone understands the importance of following the hygiene guidelines so that their friend Jérémy can play with them normally. By sticking to the game plan shown to them, each of these young team players will succeed in keeping at check length the multiple infectious agents.

Jérémy’s body does not produce immunoglobulin G, or IgG, a substance also known as antibodies, normally present in the bloodstream of all humans and whose function is to fight off microbes; Jérémy has no antibodies to fight them. This is a rare condition, and it took specialists two and a half years to find the right diagnosis. After his birth, Jérémy suffered from asthma, produced large quantities of mucus and repeatedly suffered from infections. Needless to say, he and his parents spent many days in the emergency wards or in medical clinics, each time anxious to find out what was wrong.

A specialist finally got wind of the situation and asked them to perform further tests. Once the diagnosis was found, a course of action became clear: the young patient would need to have frequent transfusions. To keep his immune system functioning, he would in fact need to receive them his entire life. For a long time, Jérémy received immunoglobulins (IgG) every two weeks intravenously. He was punctured so many times that his veins were no longer able to absorb the quantities of liquid. When a permanent catheter was implanted under his clavicle, Jérémy exclaimed, “Wow! It’s a magic box.” From that day on, the needles no longer hurt him.

In order to maximize the response to an uncountable number of attacks from microbes and antigens to which a person is exposed, the immunoglobulins transfused must be taken from a large sample of 5 to 10,000 donors. Receiving this many antibodies even drop by drop over a four-hour period, occasionally produces certain side-effects (vomiting, migraine, etc.). To make the treatment more tolerable for the young boy, it is now administered every three weeks. Thus, Jérémy receives more immunoglobulins, but less frequently.

Jérémy never complains. He likes to remind his loved-ones that he is not sick, and that it is only his body that is. In fact, his routine hospital visits are part of his life. They take place on Fridays, from quarter to eight to four thirty. Jérémy likes to prepare his bag and pack his toys. Once in the hospital room, he can finally play with a new toy his parents have bought him. “To help him look forward to his next appointment,” his mother confides, “we let him choose a new toy as soon as we leave the hospital.” Jérémy therefore knows in advance what his next gift will be, but he isn’t allowed to touch it before his next transfusion.

The side-effects he goes through after his treatment are nothing compared to the advantages. After each hospital visit, he is transformed. The transformation is never exactly the same however. “Sometimes Jérémy becomes impatient,” says his mother. “We tell him he received blood from the Lion King! That explains why he feels like roaring! Other times he climbs on everything and we explain that he received blood from Spiderman!” For the parents, it’s important to explain to their son what he is going through using language he can understand. These explanations reassure him, and allow him to make sense of what he is feeling.

This year, Héma-Québec invited Jérémy’s entire family to a recognition evening that was held in Québec City. He was impressed to be in a grand hotel, accompanied by his mother, his father Robert Plourde and his twin brother and sister, Audrey-Anne and Samuel. But he was mostly surprised to see gathered in the same place so many… superheroes! During the course of the evening he came to understand that the people that were present donated blood on a regular basis without being forced to. He who knew only too well the discomfort of repeated punctures, found it difficult to understand their motivation. “Mommy, do the needles hurt them too?” he asked incredulously. “If that’s true, they are all Batmans and Spidermans!” Donors, who are seemingly ordinary people, outdo themselves, change every time they give the gift of life.

Even if Jérémy shows tremendous courage and determination, day-to-day life is no easy feat for the Plourde family. “All this disrupts a life,” admits Marie-Claude, who was forced to leave her job. “We live on my husband’s salary, and I, being a nurse, stay available for Jérémy.” He blends in well in school, liked by the other children and school staff. However, when other students are sick, he must be removed from the school for a few days. The slightest microbe that would normally be harmless could lead to a serious infection for him. “And we also have our other children!” says Marie-Claude. Audrey-Anne and Samuel, 13 years old, adore their little brother. They accompany him to the hospital when they have a day off. However, they can be a little overprotective at times. Their parents insist that they maintain a normal relationship with their brother and that Jérémy be neither too protected nor spoiled. With two adolescents, a young energetic boy and plenty of medical appointments, the concept of organization takes on its full meaning!

His whole life, little Jérémy will need to receive blood products on a regular basis. He receives and will continue to receive the services of Héma-Québec. And yet, nothing brings him down, nothing diminishes his life force. Like Kovalev, Jérémy is a champion.


IN FOCUS STORY

Jérémy Plourde
RECIPIENT
His whole life, little Jérémy will need to receive blood products on a regular basis. He receives and will continue to receive the services of Héma-Québec. And yet, nothing brings him down, nothing diminishes his life force.
Jonas Germana
DONOR
The only thing needed for Jonas Germana to make his first blood donation, was for a blood drive to be held at his workplace. The very day on which the blood drive was planned, a work colleague involved in organizing the event asked him if he would like to participate and thus contribute to saving lives. That was May 31, 2006.
Michel Thérien
DONOR
For several years now, Michel Thérien has been getting attention due to his impressive record as a blood products donor. Already, in 2002, Reader’s Digest Select Editions devoted an article to him. The magazine met him when he was at his 650th donation, a milestone which granted him the title of Héma-Québec’s greatest donor. His performance was later covered by the Soleil newspaper, as well as on the waves of Radio-Canada, during the edition of World Blood Donor Day. Michel Thérien has now passed the milestone of 925 donations.
Nathalie Blanchette
ORGANIZING COMMITTEE
One can never put too much emphasis on how essential the efforts of volunteers are to fulfilling Héma-Québec’s mission. It is thanks to their dedication and great capacity for sharing if more than 2,000 blood drives are organized each year throughout the province. It is also thanks to their actions that Héma-Québec is able to meet the needs of hospital centres for blood products and thus, improve the quality of life of so many patients.
Hélène Darby
VOLUNTEER
Héma-Québec can count on the active support of the Association of Blood Donation Volunteers (ABDV), which, since its inception in 1998, consists of an association representing blood donors and volunteers throughout Québec with 12 chapters across regional Québec. Hélène Darby has been president of the association since 2005 and is also a member of Héma-Québec’s Board of Directors.
Dr Vincent Laroche
HOSPITAL PARTNER
Making the connection between blood product donors and recipients, there is obviously Héma-Québec, but also, hospital centres and their blood bank. What significance does a blood donation have for a hematologist, who is also a blood bank director? “A blood donation is a treasure. When we look around, we realize how fortunate we are, here, in Québec. We rarely need to postpone or cancel treatments due to a shortage of blood products. In the United States, for example, in many places, scheduled surgeries are delayed because there is a scarcity of blood products. One of the reasons behind our situation is without a doubt the generosity of donors here,” explains Dr. Vincent Laroche.

Jérémy Plourde une histoire de victoire !

Héma-Québec répond aux besoins des receveurs, quels qu’ils soient. Parfois il s’agit de livrer d’urgence de grandes quantités de poches de sang à un patient en salle d’opération; dans d’autres cas, il faut fournir un produit spécialisé sur une très longue période. L’histoire de Jérémy illustre ce deuxième cas. C’est une leçon de vie et de courage. C’est l’histoire d’un gagnant !

Il n’est même pas sept heures, mais il ne peut plus patienter davantage. À six ans, en effet, le temps semble toujours si long… « Alors, ils ont gagné ? », s’empresse-t-il de demander à ses parents à moitié endormis. « Et Kovalev, il a marqué ? » Depuis sa chambre, son grand frère Samuel lui crie avec enthousiasme : « Oui, il a fait deux buts, dont le but gagnant ! ».

Jérémy Plourde est encore trop jeune pour suivre un match du Canadien jusqu’à la fin. Et c’est d’autant plus vrai lorsqu’il s’agit d’un match des séries éliminatoires dont l’issue ne se décide qu’en prolongation. Son jeune âge ne l’empêche pourtant pas d’être le plus grand fan du joueur étoile d’origine russe. Et comme son héros, il entend vivre intensément. Des projets, il en a plein la tête et c’est maintenant qu’il veut les réaliser.

Comme bien des garçons, Jérémy adore le hockey. Dynamique et plein d’énergie, il joue à son sport préféré au sein de l’équipe de hockey les Gouverneurs de Ste-Foy-Sillery. Son équipement toutefois, personne n’a le droit d’y toucher ; et pas question pour lui d’emprunter l’équipement d’un ami. Ce n’est pas par mauvaise intention, bien au contraire. Jérémy est en effet très sensible aux infections. Il doit composer quotidiennement avec une maladie plutôt rare : un déficit immunitaire humoral complexe. Dans le vestiaire, tous comprennent l’importance de respecter les consignes d’hygiène pour que leur copain Jérémy puisse jouer normalement avec eux. En suivant à la lettre le plan de match qu’on leur a appris, tous ces petits coéquipiers parviendront à tenir en échec de multiples agents infectieux.

L’organisme de Jérémy ne produit aucune immunoglobuline G, ou IgG, substance appelée aussi anticorps retrouvée normalement dans le sang de tous les humains et dont le rôle est de combattre les microbes ; Jérémy ne dispose donc d’aucun anticorps pour les combattre. C’est une condition si rare, qu’il aura fallu aux spécialistes deux ans et demie pour établir le bon diagnostic. Depuis sa naissance, Jérémy faisait de l’asthme, sécrétait une grande quantité de mucus et souffrait d’infections à répétition. Inutile de préciser que ses parents et lui ont dû passer bien des jours à l’urgence ou dans des cliniques médicales, chaque fois avec l’inquiétude de ne pas savoir ce qui n’allait pas.

Un spécialiste a fini par avoir la puce à l’oreille et demander des tests plus poussés. Une fois le diagnostic établi, la marche à suivre devenait limpide : le petit patient aurait besoin de fréquentes transfusions. Pour maintenir un système immunitaire fonctionnel, il aura en fait à en recevoir toute sa vie. Jérémy a longtemps reçu aux deux semaines des immunoglobulines (IgG) par voie intraveineuse. Il a tellement été piqué, que ses veines n’avaient plus la capacité d’absorber une telle quantité de liquide. Quand on lui a implanté un cathéter permanent sous la clavicule, Jérémy s’est exclamé : « Wow !, c’est une boîte magique ! ». Depuis ce jour, les aiguilles ne lui font plus mal.

Afin de maximiser la réponse aux agressions d’innombrables microbes et antigènes auxquelles toute personne est exposée, les immunoglobulines transfusées doivent provenir d’un large bassin de 5 à 10 000 donneurs. Recevoir autant d’anticorps, même goutte à goutte sur une période de quatre heures, occasionne chaque fois bien des effets secondaires (vomissements, migraine, etc.). Pour rendre le traitement plus tolérable au petit garçon, on le lui administre depuis peu aux trois semaines. Ainsi, Jérémy reçoit davantage d’immunoglobulines, mais à une fréquence moindre.

Jérémy ne se plaint jamais. Il aime rappeler à ses proches qu’il n’est pas malade, mais que c’est seulement son corps qui l’est. En effet, ses visites régulières à l’hôpital font partie de sa vie. Elles ont lieu le vendredi, de huit heures moins quart jusqu’à seize heures trente. Jérémy aime préparer son sac et y mettre ses jeux. Une fois dans sa chambre d’hôpital, il peut enfin jouer avec le nouveau jouet que ses parents lui offrent. « Pour qu’il anticipe son prochain traitement avec enthousiasme, confie sa maman Marie-Claude Levesque, nous lui faisons choisir un jouet dès sa sortie de l’hôpital. » Jérémy connaît donc d’avance son prochain cadeau, mais n’a pas le droit d’y toucher avant la prochaine transfusion.

Les effets secondaires qu’il ressent plusieurs heures après son traitement ne sont rien comparés aux bénéfices qu’il en retire. Après chaque visite à l’hôpital, il revient transformé. La transformation n’est jamais exactement la même cependant. « Parfois Jérémy devient irritable, confie sa mère. On lui dit alors qu’il a reçu le sang du Roi Lion ! Ça explique qu’il ait envie de rugir ! Parfois aussi, il grimpe partout et on lui explique qu’il a reçu le sang de Spiderman ! ». Pour ses parents, il est important d’expliquer à leur fils ce qu’il traverse dans un langage adapté. Ces explications le rassurent, lui permettent de donner un sens à ce qu’il ressent.

Cette année, Héma-Québec a invité toute la famille de Jérémy à une soirée de reconnaissance qui s’est tenue à Québec. Il était impressionné d’être reçu dans un grand hôtel, en compagnie de sa mère, de son père Robert Plourde et de son frère et sa soeur jumeaux, Audrey-Anne et Samuel. Mais il a surtout été stupéfait de voir réunis en un même lieu autant… de superhéros ! C’est au cours de cette soirée qu’il a compris que les personnes présentes donnaient régulièrement de leur sang sans y être obligées. Lui qui connaît le désagrément des piqûres répétées, comprenait mal leur motivation. « Maman, est-ce que les aiguilles leur font mal à eux aussi ?, demande-t-il incrédule. Si c’est le cas, ils sont tous des Batman, des Superman ! » Les donneurs, des personnes pourtant ordinaires, se surpassent, se transforment chaque fois qu’elles font un don de vie.

Même si Jérémy fait preuve d’autant de courage et de détermination, le quotidien n’est pas simple chez les Plourde. « Tout ceci bouleverse une vie », avoue Marie-Claude, qui a dû quitter son emploi. « Nous vivons du salaire de mon mari, et moi, qui suis infirmière, me tient prête pour Jérémy. » Ce dernier est bien intégré à l’école, apprécié des autres enfants et du personnel scolaire. Pourtant, quand d’autres élèves sont malades, il faut le retirer de l’école pour quelques jours. Le moindre petit microbe qui serait bénin normalement peut entraîner chez lui une infection grave.

« Et il ne faut pas oublier nos autres enfants ! », rappelle Marie-Claude. Audrey-Anne et Samuel, 13 ans, adorent leur petit frère. Ils l’accompagnent à l’hôpital lorsqu’ils sont en congé. Cependant, ils se montrent trop protecteurs parfois. Leurs parents tiennent à ce qu’ils aient des relations normales avec leur petit frère et que Jérémy ne soit ni surprotégé, ni trop gâté. Avec deux adolescents, un jeune garçon actif et plein de visites médicales, l’organisation prend tout son sens !

Toute sa vie, le petit Jérémy aura besoin de recevoir un produit sanguin de façon régulière. Il est et restera tributaire des services d’Héma-Québec. Pourtant, rien ne le démoralise, rien n’altère sa force de vivre. Comme Kovalev, Jérémy est un gagnant.


Témoignages des ambassadeurs du don de sang

Jérémy Plourde
RECEVEUR
Toute sa vie, le petit Jérémy aura besoin de recevoir un produit sanguin de façon régulière.
Il est et restera tributaire des services d’Héma-Québec. Pourtant, rien ne le démoralise, rien n’altère sa force de vivre.
Jonas Germana
DONNEUR
Il aura fallu à Jonas Germana, l’organisation d’une collecte de sang sur son lieu de travail pour qu’il effectue son premier don de sang. Le jour même où avait lieu la collecte, une collègue de travail impliquée dans l’organisation de l’événement lui avait alors demandé s’il désirait participer et ainsi contribuer à sauver des vies. C’était le 31 mai 2006.
Michel Thérien
DONNEUR
Il y a déjà quelques années que Michel Thérien attire l’attention en raison de son impressionnante carrière de donneur de produits sanguins. Déjà en 2002, le magazine Sélection du Reader’s Digest lui avait consacré un article dans ses pages. Le magazine l’avait rencontré alors qu’il procédait à son 650e don, ce qui lui valait déjà le titre de plus grand donneur d’Héma-Québec. Ses performances ont par la suite fait l’objet de reportages dans les pages du Soleil, de même que sur les ondes de Radio-Canada, lors d’une édition de la Journée mondiale du don de sang. Michel Thérien a maintenant franchi le cap des 925 dons.
Nathalie Blanchette
COMITÉ ORGANISATEUR
On ne dira jamais assez à quel point le travail des bénévoles est essentiel à la réalisation de la mission d’Héma-Québec. C’est grâce à leur dévouement et à leur grand sens du partage si plus de 2 000 collectes mobiles sont organisées chaque année sur l’ensemble du territoire de la province. C’est aussi grâce à leur mobilisation qu’Héma-Québec est en mesure de répondre aux besoins des centres hospitaliers en produits sanguins et ainsi améliorer la qualité de vie de nombreux patients.
Hélène Darby
BÉNÉVOLE
Héma-Québec peut compter, depuis sa création en 1998, sur l’apport de l’Association des bénévoles du don de sang (ABDS), un regroupement représentant les donneurs et bénévoles du sang de tout le Québec, avec des ramifications dans 12 régions. Hélène Darby en est la présidente depuis 2005. À titre de présidente de l’ABDS, madame Darby est également membre du conseil d’administration d’Héma-Québec.
Dr Vincent Laroche
PARTENAIRE HOSPITALIER
Entre les donneurs de produits sanguins et ceux qui en reçoivent, il y a évidemment Héma-Québec, mais également les centres hospitaliers et leur banque de sang. Quelle signification revêt le don de sang pour un médecin hématologue, de surcroît directeur de banques de sang ? « Le don de sang pour nous, c’est un trésor. Quand on se compare, on se rend compte à quel point nous sommes chanceux, ici, au Québec. Il est extrêmement rare que des traitements soient reportés ou annulés parce que l’on manque de produits sanguins. Aux États-Unis, par exemple, dans beaucoup d’endroits, des chirurgies planifiées sont reportées en raison d’un manque de produits sanguins. Une des raisons qui explique cette situation est évidemment la générosité des donneurs d’ici », explique Dr Vincent Laroche.