Blood Components

What are the components of blood?

Plasma
Plasma constitutes 55% of total blood volume. Composed of 90% water, salts, lipids and hormones, it is especially rich in proteins (including its main protein albumin), immunoglobulins, clotting factors and fibrinogen.

Plasma performs several functions: transporting blood cells and nutrients; regulating the body’s water and mineral salts; irrigating tissues; providing a defence against infections; and coagulating blood.

The albumin contained in plasma prevents the blood from losing too much water and consistency as it travels through the narrow, water-permeable blood vessels (capillaries). Albumin transports various blood components and nutrients. The immunoglobulins also contained in plasma are antibodies that, along with white blood cells, play an important role in fighting against pathogens. Clotting factors, in combination with platelets, control hemorrhaging.

A deficiency in these proteins can cause various health problems. For example, the lack of albumin can lead to the inability to retain water in the vessels, the lack of immunoglobulins can lead to a decline in the body’s immune defences and a lack of clotting factors can lead to blood clotting anomalies.

Red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets are suspended in plasma.

Red Blood Cells
A drop of blood the size of a pinhead contains approximately 5 million red blood cells (erythrocytes). They are small biconcave disks without a nucleus and get their red colour from an iron-containing protein called hemoglobin. Red cells make up between 37% and 43% of blood volume in women and between 43% to 49% in men. Red blood cells carry oxygen throughout the body.

White Blood Cells
There are between 6,000 and 8,000 white cells per cubic millimetre of blood. White cells, slightly larger than red cells, are also called leukocytes. They purify and protect the body from infections. Once an infection is detected in any part of the body, the while cells move in to fight it.

Platelets
Platelets, or thrombocytes, are smaller than the red and white blood cells. Platelets play a role in blood coagulation and wound healing. When a blood vessel ruptures, platelets combine with fibrin, derived from fibrinogen, to form a clot.

Composants du sang

Quels sont les composants du sang?

Plasma
Le plasma constitue 55% du volume du sang total. Formé d'eau à 90%, de sels, de lipides et d’hormones, le plasma est surtout un liquide riche en protéines, dont l'albumine, sa protéine principale; les immunoglobulines; ainsi que les facteurs de coagulation et le fibrinogène.

Le plasma remplit plusieurs fonctions : le transport des cellules sanguines et des substances nutritives; la régulation de l'eau et des sels minéraux de l'organisme; l’irrigation des tissus; la défense contre les infections; la coagulation du sang.

L'albumine contenue dans le plasma empêche le sang de perdre trop d'eau et de s’épaissir lorsqu'il circule à travers des vaisseaux étroits perméables à l'eau (capillaires). L'albumine transporte divers composants du sang et des substances nutritives. De plus, les immunoglobulines dans le plasma sont les anticorps qui jouent, avec les globules blancs, un rôle important dans la défense contre les agents pathogènes. Puis, les facteurs de coagulation sont responsables, avec les plaquettes, de l'arrêt d’hémorragies.

Un déficit de ces protéines peut entraîner une incapacité à retenir l'eau dans les vaisseaux (albumine), une diminution des défenses immunitaires de l'organisme (immunoglobulines), ou des anomalies de la coagulation sanguine (facteurs de coagulation).

Les globules rouges, les globules blancs et les plaquettes se retrouvent en suspension dans le plasma.

Globules rouges
Une goutte de sang de la grosseur d'une tête d'épingle contient environ 5 millions de globules rouges (ou hématies). Ce sont de petits disques biconcaves sans noyau dont la couleur rouge est due à une protéine appelée hémoglobine, une protéine contenant du fer. Chez les femmes, la masse des globules rouges occupe de 37 à 43 % du volume sanguin; chez l'homme, de 43 à 49 %. Les globules rouges ont pour fonction le transport de l'oxygène.

Globules blancs
On retrouve 6 000 à 8 000 globules blancs (ou leucocytes) par millimètre cube de sang. Un peu plus gros que les globules rouges, ils remplissent diverses fonctions de purification et de protection contre les infections. En effet, dès qu'une infection est présente dans un endroit du corps humain, les globules blancs s'y rendent pour la combattre.

Plaquettes
Les plaquettes (ou thrombocytes) sont des cellules sanguines plus petites que les globules. Elles ont pour fonction de contribuer à la coagulation sanguine et à la cicatrisation des plaies. Leur action coagulatrice se met en branle lorsqu'un vaisseau sanguin se fissure. Les plaquettes activées se combinent à la fibrine, dérivée du fibrinogène, pour former un caillot.