Distribution to hospitals

Labile blood products

The labile blood products manufactured by Héma-Québec are perishable blood components, including packed red blood cells, platelets and platelets by apheresis, plasma products and cryoprecipitates.

As soon as a product is compliant and duly labelled, it is ready to be sent to Québec hospitals. The components of a bag of blood collected on a Monday, for example, are ready to be delivered on Tuesday at the end of the day.

On duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week, our Customer Service (Hospitals) and Shipping departments receive the orders from the hospitals and prepare the blood products for delivery.

Every day, we receive approximately 200 orders from the hospital centres we serve throughout Québec. Every year, we supply hospitals with an average of 400,000 labile blood products to meet recipients’ needs.

Stable products

What are stable products?
Stable products have a much longer shelf life than labile blood products, which explains their qualifier. Stable products are obtained by fractioning the various proteins contained in human plasma or through recombinant manufacturing techniques requiring little or no plasma. They are used for various therapeutic purposes.

Héma-Québec acts only as a distributor of stable products for Québec. It does not manufacture stable products.

We purchase stable products from partner suppliers, manage the inventory of these products and ensure the supply for our client hospitals.

Moreover, we send a portion of the plasma produced from whole blood donations (details) to a fractionation facility that extracts stable products from it. These products are also part of our inventory of stable products.

Categories distributed by Héma-Québec
The categories of stable products we distribute include:

  • Intravenous immunoglobulins or IVIg (extracted from plasma)
  • Antihemophilic or coagulation factors (extracted from plasma or recombinant)
  • Albumin (extracted from plasma)
  • Hyperimmune immunoglobulins (extracted from plasma)

Intravenous immunoglobulins and the recombinant antihemophilic factors represent more than 70% of the stable product budget. The value of the stable products distributed to Québec hospitals represents more than half of our total budget.

Distribution aux hôpitaux

Produits sanguins labiles

Les produits sanguins labiles fabriqués par Héma-Québec sont des composants sanguins périssables, comprenant les culots globulaires (globules rouges), les plaquettes, les produits plasmatiques et les cryoprécipités.

Dès qu’un produit conforme est dûment étiqueté, il est prêt à être envoyé aux hôpitaux du Québec. Les composants d’une poche de sang prélevée un lundi, par exemple, sont prêts à être livrés le mardi en fin de journée.

En service 24 heures par jour, sept jours sur sept, notre Service à la clientèle-hôpitaux, et notre Service d’expédition, reçoivent les commandes des hôpitaux et préparent les produits sanguins pour la livraison.

Chaque jour, nous recevons environ 200 commandes des centres hospitaliers que nous desservons à travers le Québec. Annuellement, nous fournissons aux hôpitaux en moyenne 400 000 produits sanguins labiles pour répondre aux besoins des malades.

Produits stables

Que sont les produits stables?
Les produits stables ont une durée de vie plus longue que les produits sanguins labiles, d’où leur qualificatif. Les produits stables sont obtenus en fractionnant les diverses protéines contenues dans le plasma humain ou par le biais de techniques de fabrication recombinante nécessitant peu ou pas de plasma. Ils sont utilisés à diverses fins thérapeutiques.

Héma-Québec agit seulement à titre de distributeur de produits stables pour le Québec; elle ne fabrique pas les produits stables.

Nous achetons les produits stables auprès de fournisseurs partenaires, gérons l’inventaire de ces produits, et en assurons l’approvisionnement pour nos clients hospitaliers.

De plus, nous acheminons une partie du plasma fabriqué à partir des dons de sang total (détails) à un établissement de fractionnement qui en dérive des produits stables. Ces produits font aussi partie de l’inventaire de produits stables d’Héma-Québec.

Produits stables distribués par Héma-Québec
Les catégories de produits stables que nous distribuons comprennent :

  • Les immunoglobulines intraveineuses ou IgIV
    (d’origine plasmatique);
  • Les facteurs antihémophiliques ou de coagulation
    (d’origine plasmatique ou recombinante);
  • L’albumine (d’origine plasmatique);
  • Les immunoglobulines hyperimmunes (d’origine plasmatique).

Les immunoglobulines intraveineuses et les facteurs antihémophiliques recombinants représentent plus de 70% du budget pour les produits stables. En outre, la valeur des produits stables distribués aux hôpitaux du Québec représente plus de la moitié de notre budget total.