New GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre opens in Québec City

A gift of life experience to discover in the Lebourgneuf district

Québec City, August 29, 2018 – Today marks the opening of the new GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre in the Lebourgneuf district and Héma-Québec is taking advantage of the occasion to raise awareness among residents of the Québec City region about the importance of donating blood. The goal is to welcome 450 blood donors a week and to collect some 23,000 donations a year.

“This ninth blood donor centre is the latest addition to a network of which we can all be proud. The centre is beginning operations at a time of high potential for the development of biological products of human origin. Donations made here will contribute not only to maintaining the collective blood reserve at an optimal level, but also to improving the supply of plasma, a blood component for which demand is constantly increasing,” explains Héma-Québec’s President and CEO Benoit Morin. “Thanks to the commitment of current and future donors, we will be able to reach our goals. I would like to express my sincerest appreciation for their unwavering support for the cause of the gift of life.”

The new centre in the Lebourgneuf district joins another in operation since 2003 in the Borough of Ste-Foy, along with the many mobile blood drives organized locally each week, increasing the number of opportunities to give blood in the National Capital Region.

In addition to whole blood donations, such as those collected at mobile blood drives, the centre will also collect plasma and platelets by apheresis. This type of donation involves the use of an apheresis machine that receives the donor’s blood, separates it into its various components and returns the components not targeted to the donor. In other words, apheresis is a collection technique by which blood components can be collected selectively. The frequency of this type of donation is much higher than for whole blood. A donor can give plasma by apheresis every six days, up to 50 times a year, while whole blood can only be donated every 56 days, six times a year.

The gift of life by and for Quebecers

Yannick Girard, a donor at the Lebourgneuf GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre, is intimately involved with the cause of blood donation. “My daughter Amély was born with Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome. She survived two cancers and underwent a liver transplant before the age of 5. Following numerous operations and chemotherapy treatments, she received blood transfusions on multiple occasions.” This father goes on to describe his admiration for his young daughter who is now nine years old: “Amély is a model of courage and determination for us.” In the same breath, he thanks the thousands of individuals who, like him, are committed to the cause of blood donation.

For more information about the Lebourgneuf GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre, consult the information sheet or visit Héma-Québec’s Web site at www.hema-quebec.qc.ca/index.en.html, section BLOOD > DONORS> Where to donate?

Information Sheet (PDF)

À propos d’Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec’s mission is to efficiently meet the needs of the Québec population for quality blood and other biological products of human origin.

Héma-Québec encompasses 1,300 employees and nearly 240,000 blood, stem cell, mother’s milk and human tissue donors, in addition to thousands of blood drive volunteers. Each year, Héma-Québec delivers some 750,000 human biological products to Québec hospitals to meet the needs of patients.

Give Blood. Give Life.

– 30 –

Source and information

Héma-Québec
Media line: 514-832-0871
www.hema-quebec.qc.ca

Original text in French. In the event of a discrepancy between the English and French versions, the latter will prevail.

Nouveau Centre des donneurs de sang GLOBULE à Québec

Une expérience du don de vie à découvrir dans le quartier Lebourgneuf

Québec, le 29 août 2018 – Héma-Québec inaugure aujourd’hui le Centre des donneurs de sang GLOBULE du quartier Lebourgneuf et profite de l’occasion pour sensibiliser la population de la région de Québec à l’importance du don de sang. L’objectif est d’y accueillir 450 donneurs par semaine et de recueillir quelque 23 000 dons par année.

« Ce neuvième centre de donneurs est un ajout à notre réseau dont nous pouvons tous être fiers. Il amorce ses activités dans un contexte de fort potentiel de développement dans le domaine des produits biologiques d’origine humaine. Les dons qui se font ici contribuent évidemment à maintenir la réserve collective de sang à un niveau optimal, mais également à améliorer l’approvisionnement en plasma, un composant du sang pour lequel la demande augmente constamment, explique le président et chef de la direction d’Héma-Québec, Benoit Morin. Nous pourrons atteindre nos objectifs grâce à l’engagement des donneurs actuels et futurs, et je les remercie vivement de leur appui indéfectible à la cause du don de vie ».

Ainsi, le centre du quartier Lebourgneuf s’ajoute à celui établi, depuis 2003, dans l’arrondissement Ste-Foy de même qu’aux nombreuses collectes mobiles organisées localement chaque semaine, bonifiant l’offre de collectes dans la région de la capitale nationale.

En plus des dons de sang total, comme en collectes mobiles, on y prélève du plasma et des plaquettes par aphérèse. Ce type de don est réalisé à l’aide d’un appareil qui reçoit le sang du donneur, le sépare en ses différents composants et retourne les composants non sélectionnés au donneur. En d’autres mots, il s’agit d’une technique de prélèvement qui consiste à collecter le plasma de manière sélective. La fréquence de ce type de don est beaucoup plus grande que pour le sang total. On peut donner du plasma par aphérèse tous les six jours, jusqu’à 50 fois par année, tandis qu'on ne peut donner du sang total qu’aux 56 jours, soit six fois par an.

Le don de vie par et pour des gens d’ici

Donneur au GLOBULE Lebourgneuf, Yannick Girard entretient un lien très intime avec la cause du don de sang. « Ma fille Amély est née avec le syndrome Beckwith-Wiedemann. Elle a vaincu deux cancers et subi une greffe du foie, avant l’âge de 5 ans. À la suite de nombreuses opérations et traitements de chimiothérapie, elle a bénéficié de transfusions de produits sanguins à plusieurs reprises. Amély est pour nous un modèle de courage et de détermination », raconte le père de la jeune fille aujourd’hui âgée de 9 ans. Il remercie du même souffle les milliers de personnes qui, comme lui, sont engagées envers la cause du don de sang.

Pour plus d’information sur GLOBULE Lebourgneuf, consultez la fiche jointe au communiqué ou visitez le site Web d’Héma-Québec au www.hema-quebec.qc.ca, section SANG > DONNEURS > Où donner?

Fiche (PDF)

À propos d’Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec a pour mission de répondre avec efficience aux besoins de la population québécoise en sang et autres produits biologiques d’origine humaine de qualité.

Héma-Québec, c’est plus de 1 300 employés, près de 240 000 donneurs de sang, de cellules souches, de lait maternel et de tissus humains, en plus de milliers de bénévoles sur des sites de collecte de sang. Héma-Québec livre annuellement près de 750 000 produits biologiques d’origine humaine aux hôpitaux du Québec pour subvenir aux besoins des malades.

Donnez du sang. Donnez la vie.

– 30 –

Renseignements

Héma-Québec
Ligne médias : 514 832-0871
www.hema-quebec.qc.ca