International Award Bestowed on Héma-Québec’s Medical Director

Montréal, July 25, 2018–On the occasion of the 35th International Congress of the ISBT (International Society of Blood Transfusion), June 2-6 in Toronto, Dr. Pierre Robillard was honoured with the ISBT Award for his outstanding contribution to transfusion medicine nationally and internationally.

In presenting this award during the opening ceremony of the congress, the ISBT’s Executive Committee underscored Dr. Robillard’s leadership in the education of blood transfusion, more specifically his work in developing standard definitions for surveillance of non-infectious adverse transfusion reactions. Founded in 1935, the ISBT brings together transfusion medicine professionals from around the globe.

Dr. Pierre Robillard is Héma-Québec’s medical director. Prior to joining Héma-Québec, he participated in developing and implementing Quebec and Canadian hemovigilance systems for recipients of blood products. Among Dr. Robillard’s many achievements since taking up his post at Héma-Québec is the implementation of a hemovigilance system for donors. He was also Chair of ISBT’s hemovigilance working group from 2004 to 2011.

About Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec’s mission is to efficiently meet the needs of the Québec population for quality blood and other biological products of human origin.

Héma-Québec encompasses 1,300 employees and nearly 240,000 blood, stem cell, mother’s milk and human tissue donors, in addition to thousands of blood drive volunteers. Each year, Héma-Québec delivers some 750,000 human biological products to Québec hospitals to meet the needs of patients.

Give Blood. Give Life.

– 30 –

Source and information:

Héma-Québec
Media line | 514-832-0871
www.hema-quebec.qc.ca

Original text in French. In the event of a discrepancy between the English and French versions, the latter will prevail.

Une reconnaissance internationale décernée au directeur médical d’Héma-Québec

Montréal, le 25 juillet 2018 – À l’occasion du 35e congrès international de l’ISBT (International Society of Blood Transfusion) qui se déroulait du 2 au 6 juin, à Toronto, le Dr Pierre Robillard s’est vu remettre l’ISBT Award pour son apport à la médecine transfusionnelle, et ce, à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

Par cette reconnaissance remise lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture du congrès, le comité exécutif de l’ISBT a mis en lumière le leadership de Dr Robillard en matière d’hémovigilance. L’organisation a notamment souligné la contribution de Dr Robillard sur le plan éducationnel, et plus particulièrement, son travail à développer des définitions standardisées portant sur les réactions transfusionnelles et postdons. Fondée en 1935, l’ISBT regroupe des professionnels de la médecine transfusionnelle du monde entier.

Dr Pierre Robillard est directeur médical à Héma-Québec. Avant de joindre Héma-Québec, il a participé à l’élaboration et la mise sur pied des systèmes d’hémovigilance québécois et canadien pour les receveurs de produits sanguins. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations depuis qu’il est en poste à Héma-Québec, le Dr Robillard a mis en place un système d’hémovigilance des donneurs. Il a également été président du groupe de travail sur l’hémovigilance de l’ISBT de 2004 à 2011.

À propos d’Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec a pour mission de répondre avec efficience aux besoins de la population québécoise en sang et autres produits biologiques d’origine humaine de qualité.

Héma-Québec, c’est plus de 1 300 employés, près de 240 000 donneurs de sang, de cellules souches, de lait maternel et de tissus humains, en plus de milliers de bénévoles sur des sites de collecte de sang. Héma-Québec livre annuellement près de 750 000 produits biologiques d’origine humaine aux hôpitaux du Québec pour subvenir aux besoins des malades.

Donnez du sang. Donnez la vie.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Héma-Québec
Ligne médias | 514 832-0871
www.hema-quebec.qc.ca