Frequently asked questions

Download the document (PDF)

Section 204.1 of the AHSSS, facilitating the donation of organs and tissues, stipulates that the Director of professional services of an institution operating a general and specialized hospital shall diligently, when informed of the recent death of a potential tissue donor, identify and recommend the individual and transmit all necessary medical information about the deceased to Héma-Québec.

The role of healthcare staff at each institution, therefore, is to ensure the identification of potential tissue donors and to recommend donors to Héma-Québec.

Yes. Potential donors whose death is the subject of a coroner’s inquest or for which an autopsy is required must be recommended to Héma-Québec. A Héma-Québec coordinator will contact the coroner or pathologist to follow up on the donation process.

Tissue donation can greatly improve quality of life and even save the lives of several people. A single tissue donor can help up to 20 recipients.

No tissues are retrieved without the family’s consent. Usually, when they are informed that their loved one has consented to tissue donation upon death, the family will respect and honour the decision. This is why it is important to recommend the potential donor to Héma-Québec before suggesting the tissue donation option to the family. A Héma-Québec coordinator will check the consent registries and let hospital staff know whether or not there is donor consent.

Héma-Québec collects the following human tissues: heart valves (aortic and pulmonary) with their respective arteries; thoracic and abdominal aortas with or without the aortoiliac junction; femoral arteries; musculoskeletal tissues (tendons, bone); cutaneous tissues (skin); and ocular tissues, including corneas.

Tissues can be recovered in persons 85 years of age and under who have recently died (cardiorespiratory death within 24 hours and not maintained on life support).

The donor’s body is treated with care and respect by a team of professionals specializing in tissue removal. The process is carried out in facilities specially designed for that purpose at Héma-Québec or a hospital operating room, according to stringent procedures that comply with Health Canada standards and those of various recognized regulatory agencies. The tissues are processed and conserved until they are grafted.

Yes. The procedure for recovering tissues does not change the donor’s appearance, and an open-casket funeral is possible.

Héma-Québec is responsible for transferring the body to its facilities and obtains from the family the contact information of the funeral home to which the body is to be sent.

Questions fréquemment posées

Téléchargez le document (PDF)

L'article 204.1 de la LSSSS, facilitant les dons d'organes et de tissus, stipule que le directeur des services professionnels d'un centre hospitalier de soins généraux et spécialisés doit, avec diligence, devant la mort récente d'un donneur potentiel de tissus, l'identifier, le recommander et transmettre tout renseignement médical nécessaire concernant celui-ci à Héma-Québec.

Le rôle du personnel soignant de chaque établissement est donc d'assurer l'identification d'un donneur potentiel de tissus et d'en faire la recommandation à Héma-Québec.

Oui, le donneur potentiel dont le décès fait l'objet d'une enquête du coroner ou pour lequel une autopsie est requise doit être recommandé à Héma-Québec. Le coordonnateur d'Héma-Québec communiquera avec le coroner ou le pathologiste pour la suite du processus de don. 

Le don de tissus peut améliorer de façon importante la qualité de vie, voire même sauver la vie de plusieurs personnes. Un seul donneur peut aider jusqu'à 20 receveurs.

Aucun tissu n'est prélevé sans le consentement de la famille. Généralement, quand la famille est informée que l'être cher a consenti au don de tissus à son décès, celle-ci respecte et honore sa décision. C'est pour cette raison qu'il est important de recommander le donneur potentiel à Héma-Québec avant de proposer l'option du don à la famille. Le coordonnateur d'Héma-Québec fera les vérifications nécessaires aux registres des consentements et informera le personnel du centre hospitalier de la présence d'un consentement ou non. 

Les tissus humains prélevés par Héma-Québec sont : les valves cardiaques (aortique et pulmonaire) et leurs conduits respectifs; l’aorte thoracique et abdominale avec ou sans le carrefour aorto-iliaque; les artères fémorales; les tissus musculosquelettiques (tendons, os); les tissus cutanés (peau); et les tissus oculaires, dont la cornée.

Les tissus peuvent être prélevés chez des personnes de 85 ans et moins, en mort récente (décès cardiorespiratoire dans les 24 dernières heures et sans maintien des fonctions vitales).

Le corps du donneur est manipulé avec soin et respect par une équipe de professionnels spécialisés dans le prélèvement de tissus. Les prélèvements sont effectués dans les installations spécialement conçues à cet effet, à Héma-Québec ou en salle d’opération en milieu hospitalier, selon des procédures strictes et conformes aux standards de Santé Canada et aux normes des différentes agences réglementaires reconnues. Les tissus prélevés sont traités et conservés jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient greffés.

Oui, la procédure relative au prélèvement des tissus ne modifie pas l’apparence du donneur et n’empêchera aucunement l’exposition du corps dans un salon funéraire.

Héma-Québec est responsable du transfert du corps vers ses installations et obtient de la part de la famille les coordonnées de la maison funéraire où le corps sera acheminé par la suite.