Research and development

Research and Development at Héma-Québec: An Overview

Research and development (R&D) activities must be an important focus of any organization operating in the health care field, where technological advances are steady and rapid. At Héma-Québec, the efforts dedicated to R&D activities support overall business operations. These activities are in line with the major orientations of Héma-Québec’s 2012–2015 strategic plan. The R&D Division plays a key role in improving quality and efficiency, and acts as an essential innovation driver.

Over the next few years, Héma-Quebec plans to expand its biological product offering. The R&D Division is involved in the development, from the earliest stages, of these new product lines. Blood and its derivatives, as well as cord blood, remain core components of Héma-Québec’s mission. The line of available human tissue products is expanding and diversifying. Cellular production, which aims at providing hospital clients with a completely new range of products for which our organization is poised to become a key player, is mobilizing substantial R&D efforts.

The R&D Division also fosters the growth of an economic environment that is favourable to innovation through networking and collaboration with local, national and international partners in academic and industrial sectors of the life sciences. This ecosystem, which brings together various organizations that share an interest in biomedical research, provides additional opportunities for innovation and new product development.

All R&D activities are evaluated by two advisory committees:

A third committee, the Research Ethics Committee, is the ultimate authority in matters of compliance with research ethics standards.

Recherche et développement

Aperçu de la R&D à Héma-Québec

Les activités de recherche et développement (R&D) se doivent de demeurer un créneau important de toute organisation œuvrant dans le domaine de la santé, où les progrès technologiques sont constants et rapides. À Héma-Québec, les efforts consacrés à la R&D soutiennent l’ensemble des opérations de l’entreprise. Ces activités s’arriment harmonieusement avec les grandes orientations du plan stratégique 2012-2015 d’Héma-Québec. La R&D est appelée à jouer un rôle majeur dans l’amélioration de la qualité et de l’efficience, et à servir de moteur d’innovation incontournable.

L’accroissement de l’offre de produits biologiques qu’Héma-Québec entend développer au cours des prochaines années implique la participation de la Vice-présidence à la R&D, et ce dès les premiers stades de développement de ces nouvelles lignes de produits. Le sang et ses dérivés, ainsi que le sang de cordon, demeurent au cœur de la mission d’Héma-Québec. L’offre de tissus humains est en croissance et se diversifie. La production cellulaire, qui vise à offrir à nos clients hospitaliers une toute nouvelle gamme de produits pour laquelle notre organisation entend être un acteur-clé, mobilise également des énergies substantielles en R&D.

La Vice-présidence à la R&D cherche également à favoriser l’essor d’un environnement économique propice à l’innovation, par le biais de maillages et collaborations avec des partenaires locaux, nationaux et internationaux des secteurs académiques et industriels qui oeuvrent dans le domaine des sciences de la vie. Un tel écosystème où se côtoient une variété d’organisations intéressées à la recherche biomédicale offre des opportunités additionnelles d’innovation et de développement de nouveaux produits.

Les activités de R&D sont évaluées par deux comités consultatifs :

Un troisième comité, le comité d’éthique de la recherche, est l’autorité décisionnelle en matière de respect des normes d’éthique de la recherche.