Patrick, donneur de plasma

The Amazing Journey of Plasma

From donation to distribution

Precious and irreplaceable, plasma is essential for life. Numerous milestones mark the journey of this protein-rich liquid, from its collection by apheresis, through its fractionation for use in the manufacture of drugs, to its administration to a seriously ill patient. The travel journal below traces the route taken by plasma, from donation to distribution.

Step 1: Donating

Plasma is the liquid part of blood. Pale yellow in colour, it contains many vital components. Héma-Québec is responsible for collecting plasma in Québec. Plasma can be collected in two ways: through a whole blood donation or through a plasma donation. In the former case, blood is collected and then separated into its different components (plasma, platelets and red blood cells) in the laboratory. The amount of plasma collected during a blood donation is somewhat limited. The most effective and optimal way to collect plasma is through a plasma donation that uses a technique called “apheresis”.

Plasma donations by apheresis are made in GLOBULE and PLASMAVIE centres. Apheresis allows blood to pass through a device that collects only the plasma and returns the other blood components to the donor. This technique makes it possible to collect two to three times more plasma than through a whole blood donation. And since plasma regenerates quickly, it can be donated safety every six days!

Plasma transfused vs. plasma processed

Plasma can be used two ways. It can be transfused directly into patients to treat severe hemorrhaging or serious burns, for example. It can also be processed to manufacture vitally important specialty drugs, called “plasma products”. The latter requires large quantities of plasma.

Step 2: Freezing

Whether transfused or processed into drugs, plasma is quick frozen after collection. The quicker it is frozen, the more its essential proteins are preserved.

Step 3: Testing

Each plasma donation is tested by the product qualification laboratory to screen for the presence of infections and blood-borne diseases. Compliant plasma takes a new step forward toward fractionation.

Step 4: Processing (fractionation)

Most plasma is sent to high-tech plasma fractionation plants to be processed into plasma products. These plants, located overseas, extract the proteins (immunoglobulins, albumin and clotting factors) from the plasma and use these in the manufacture of specialty drugs.

Immunoglobulins

Immunoglobulins are the proteins extracted from plasma that are most used in Québec. Also known as antibodies, immunoglobulins are part of the body’s immune system and help fight bacteria and viruses. They can be used, therefore, to treat patients who are immunocompromised (unable to produce their own antibodies) or have certain neurological or other autoimmune disorders.

Albumin

Albumin is a protein found in greater quantity in plasma. It is especially effective in the treatment of patients with serious burns and accident victims.

Clotting factors

Clotting factors are proteins used to treat clotting disorders in patients with hemophilia.

The fractionation process

Several donations (approximately 8,000) from different donors are pooled together to extract the proteins from the plasma. This mixture is then subjected to varying temperatures, different pH conditions and concentrations of alcohol and water. This recipe isolates a particular type of protein that is then treated with heat, filters or chemicals to eliminate viruses and potential pathogens. The end products are tested to ensure that they meet the highest quality standards. This manufacturing process can take up to 12 months!

Step 5: Returning products to Héma-Québec

The finished products are returned to Héma-Québec, the exclusive supplier of plasma products for the province. All plasma donations collected in Québec are used to manufacture products intended for Quebecers.

Step 6: Distributing products to hospitals

Héma-Québec delivers more than 500,0001 plasma products to hospitals each year. To meet the needs of Québec patients, Héma-Québec distributes some 50 different products. The four most important of these are manufactured from plasma collected in the GLOBULE and PLASMAVIE centres.

Donating plasma to help Quebecers

While Québec is able to meet the need for blood and plasma for transfusions, the story is different for the plasma required to manufacture drugs, such as immunoglobulins. The need for plasma products continues to grow, but donations here at home are insufficient to meet demand. Héma-Québec must, therefore, buy plasma products made from plasma collected primarily in the United States to meet the needs of Quebecers.

The solution to this major challenge lies with generous donors who are willing to share their health by donating plasma in one of Héma-Québec’s GLOBULE or PLASMAVIE centres.

Want to join them? Find the plasma donor centre nearest you.

Patrick, donneur de plasma

Le fabuleux parcours du plasma

Du don jusqu'à la distribution

Précieux et irremplaçable, le plasma est essentiel à la vie. De nombreux jalons marquent le parcours de ce liquide riche en protéines, depuis son prélèvement par aphérèse à son fractionnement en vue de produire des médicaments, jusqu’à son administration à une personne gravement malade. À la manière d’un journal de bord, voici la route du plasma, du don jusqu’à la distribution.

Étape 1 : Le don

Le plasma est la partie liquide du sang, de couleur dorée, il contient de nombreux composants vitaux. Au Québec, c’est Héma-Québec qui est responsable de recueillir le plasma. Le plasma peut être prélevé de deux façons, soit par un don de sang total, soit par un don de plasma. Dans le premier cas, le sang est prélevé tel quel puis séparé, en laboratoire, en ses différents composants (plasma, plaquettes et globules rouges). La quantité de plasma recueillie lors d’un don de sang est par contre assez limitée. La façon la plus optimale et avantageuse de recueillir le plasma est par le don de plasma lui-même, grâce à une technique nommée « aphérèse ».

Les dons de plasma par aphérèse se font dans les centres GLOBULE et PLASMAVIE. Grâce à cette technique, le sang passe dans un appareil qui retient uniquement le plasma, puis retourne les autres composants sanguins aux donneurs. Cette méthode permet de prélever deux à trois fois plus de plasma que lors d’un don de sang total. Et comme le plasma se regénère rapidement, on peut donner de manière sécuritaire, tous les six jours!

Plasma transfusé vs plasma transformé

Le plasma peut être utilisé de deux façons : on peut s'en servir directement, pour transfuser les patients en cas d'hémorragie grave ou pour soigner les grands brûlés, par exemple. On peut aussi le transformer pour fabriquer des médicaments spécialisés d’une importance critique, que l'on appelle des « produits plasmatiques ». Cette deuxième utilisation requiert de grande quantité de plasma.

Étape 2 : La congélation

Qu’il soit transfusé ou transformé en médicaments, le plasma sera congelé rapidement à la suite du prélèvement. Plus on le congèle vite, plus on préserve ses protéines essentielles.

Étape 3 : Les analyses

Chaque don de plasma est testé par le laboratoire de qualification des produits pour dépister la présence d’infections et de maladies transmissibles par le sang. Le plasma conforme franchit alors une nouvelle étape menant à sa transformation.

Étape 4 : La transformation (fractionnement)

La majorité du plasma est envoyé à des usines de haute technologie dédiées au fractionnement du plasma afin de le transformer en produits plasmatiques. Ces usines, établies à l’étranger, extraient les protéines du plasma (les immunoglobulines, l’albumine et les facteurs de coagulation) et les utilisent pour fabriquer des médicaments spécialisés.

Les immunoglobulines

Ce sont les protéines extraites du plasma les plus utilisées au Québec. Les immunoglobulines (aussi connues sous le nom d’anticorps) font partie du système immunitaire et aident à combattre les bactéries et les virus. Elles peuvent donc être utilisées dans le traitement de patients souffrant de déficits immunitaires (incapacité à produire ses propres anticorps) ou de certaines maladies auto-immunes (neurologiques ou autres).

L’albumine

Cette protéine est celle que l’on retrouve en plus grande quantité dans le plasma; elle est particulièrement efficace pour soigner les grands brûlés et les accidentés.

Les facteurs de coagulation

Ces protéines traitent les troubles de coagulation et sont destinées aux personnes atteintes d’hémophilie.

Le processus de fractionnement

Pour extraire les protéines du plasma, on mélange les dons de plusieurs milliers de personnes (environ 8 000 dons!). On soumet ensuite ce mélange à des températures variables, à différentes conditions de pH et de concentrations d’alcool et d’eau. Chaque recette isole un type particulier de protéines. Celles-ci sont ensuite traitées avec de la chaleur, des filtres ou des produits chimiques pour éliminer les virus et les pathogènes potentiels. Les produits finis sont analysés pour s’assurer qu’ils satisfont aux plus hautes normes de qualité. Ce processus de fabrication peut prendre jusqu’à 12 mois!

Étape 5 : Le retour des produits à Héma-Québec

Les produits finis sont retournés à Héma-Québec, fournisseur exclusif de produits plasmatiques pour la province. Tous les dons de plasma réalisés au Québec servent donc à la fabrication de produits destinés aux gens d’ici.

Étape 6 : La distribution aux centres hospitaliers

Héma-Québec livre plus de 500 000 produits plasmatiques aux centres hospitaliers chaque année. Pour répondre aux besoins des patients québécois, Héma-Québec distribue une cinquantaine de produits différents, dont les quatre plus importants sont fabriqués à partir du plasma prélevé dans les centres GLOBULE et PLASMAVIE.

Donner du plasma pour aider les Québécois

Si le Québec est en mesure de répondre aux besoins en sang et en plasma destiné aux transfusions, il en est autrement pour le plasma nécessaire à la fabrication de médicaments, comme les immunoglobulines. Nos besoins en produits plasmatiques ne cessent de croître, mais les dons d’ici sont insuffisants pour répondre à tous les besoins. Héma-Québec doit donc acheter des produits plasmatiques faits à partir de plasma prélevé principalement aux États-Unis pour bien répondre aux besoins des gens d’ici.

La solution à ce défi de taille se trouve auprès de généreux donneurs, soucieux de partager leur santé en faisant un don de plasma dans les centres GLOBULE et PLASMAVIE d’Héma-Québec. Vous avez envie de vous joindre à nos donneurs en or?

Trouvez le centre de don de plasma le plus près de chez vous.