Mélissa, mother's milk donor

Public Mothers' Milk Bank

Thank you for your interest in the Public Mothers’ Milk Bank.

Please note that COVID-19 vaccines authorized by Health Canada do not involve a prohibition period from donating mother’s milk.

When the happy day arrives sooner than expected

For some pregnant mothers, the much-anticipated delivery day arrives sooner than expected.

Giving birth prematurely is a shock that has its share of challenges, including breastfeeding. About one third of mothers who deliver prematurely have difficulty producing enough milk to feed their infant. This inability to breastfeed is compromised either by illness or medication.

We know that pasteurized breast milk is beneficial for babies born prematurely at 32 weeks or less who need medical care and whose mothers cannot breastfeed.

By accepting to share your surplus milk, you are providing an invaluable service to these mothers and their premature babies. In Québec with its love of children, there is no greater proof of solidarity between mothers. 


I would like to donate

A bank serving a tightly knit community of mothers

 

Each year in Québec, some 1,000 premature babies whose mothers cannot breastfeed benefit from the generosity of mothers who share their surplus milk by donating it to Héma-Québec’s Public Mothers’ Milk Bank.

The milk donated by these mothers is tested, processed and pasteurized, then sent to hospitals where it is used to treat babies born before 32 weeks’ gestation. Your breast milk holds many benefits for premature babies. It helps protect their digestive tract, encourages the development of their intestinal flora, reduces future risks of hospitalizations and helps them reach a satisfactory weight more quickly.

I would like to donate

Mélissa, donneuse de lait maternel

Banque publique de lait maternel

Merci de votre intérêt envers la Banque publique de lait maternel!

Veuillez noter que les vaccins contre la COVID-19 autorisés par Santé Canada n’entraînent pas de délai d’interdiction au don de lait maternel. 

Quand le jour J arrive à la vitesse grand V

Pour certaines mamans enceintes, le jour tant attendu arrive beaucoup plus vite que prévu.

Accoucher prématurément est un choc qui entraîne son lot de défis, y compris celui d’allaiter. Environ le tiers des mères qui accouchent avant terme ont de la difficulté à produire assez de lait pour nourrir leur enfant, qu’elles soient malades ou sous médication, ce qui les empêche d’allaiter.

Or, on sait que le lait maternel pasteurisé est bénéfique pour les grands prématurés de 32 semaines et moins qui nécessitent des soins médicaux et dont la mère ne peut allaiter.

En acceptant de partager votre surplus de lait maternel, vous fournissez une grande aide aux mères et à leurs bébés prématurés. Dans un Québec fou de ses enfants, il n’y a pas plus belle preuve de solidarité entre mamans!

J'aimerais donner

Une banque au service d’une communauté de mamans tissée serrée

 

Chaque année au Québec, quelque 1000 bébés prématurés dont la mère ne peut allaiter bénéficient de la générosité des mères qui partagent leur surplus de lait en l’offrant à la Banque publique de lait maternel d’Héma-Québec.

Le lait donné par les mères est analysé, traité et pasteurisé. Il est ensuite acheminé aux hôpitaux, qui le réservent pour soigner les bébés nés avant 32 semaines de grossesse. Les bienfaits de votre lait maternel sont nombreux pour les grands prématurés: il aide à protéger leur appareil digestif, favorise le développement de leur flore intestinale, réduit les futurs risques d’hospitalisation et les aide à atteindre un poids satisfaisant plus rapidement.