Héma-Québec Public Mothers’ Milk Bank–Pilot project in Sherbrooke: 80 mother’s milk donors needed

Sherbrooke, November 14, 2017—The Héma-Québec Public Mothers’ Milk Bank is starting a pilot project in Sherbrooke. The main goal of this project is to recruit 80 donors by March 31, 2018, to meet the growing demand for mother’s milk for very premature infants.

To participate in the pilot project, mothers in the Estrie area who are healthy, non-smoking, nursing and able to produce surplus milk must first register with the Bank on Héma-Québec’s Web site. They must also reside less than an hour’s drive from the drop-off point, the Sherbrooke PLASMAVIE Plasma Donor Lounge, located at 3200, rue King Ouest.

Mothers who meet the qualification criteria collect their milk at home in the bottles supplied by Héma-Québec, freeze it and bring it to the drop-off point at their convenience.

Ongoing need to help very premature infants

The Public Mothers’ Milk Bank has been in operation since 2014 and is mandated to provide pasteurized human milk to premature infants born at 32 weeks or earlier who require medical care and whose mother is unable to breastfeed.

Donated milk helps reduce the risk of necrotizing enterocolitis, a serious intestinal disease, by an average of 3.3 times. In addition, premature infants are more likely to achieve a satisfactory weight, less prone to infections, and less likely to be hospitalized again when fed with donated milk.

To meet the growing demand from hospital neonatology teams, including the Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke, Héma-Québec already expanded the recruitment of mother’s milk donors to the Montréal and Québec City metropolitan communities in June 2016. Nevertheless, the Bank is currently only able to provide milk to the most vulnerable premature infants, those born at 29 weeks or earlier. More donors are therefore needed to enable Héma-Québec to provide enough mother’s milk for all premature infants born at 32 weeks or earlier, and the pilot project in Sherbrooke is part of the strategy.

Given that mothers participating in the Public Mothers’ Milk Bank provide milk for an average of 6 months, it is a constant renewal process: 700 new donors must be recruited each year.

Fact sheet (PDF)

About Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec’s mission is to efficiently meet the needs of the Québec population for quality blood and other biological products of human origin. Héma-Québec encompasses 1,300 employees, nearly 165,000 blood donors, more than 2,000 mobile blood drives per year across Québec, thousands of volunteers and more than 300,000 blood products delivered annually to Québec hospitals to meet the needs of patients.

Give blood. Give life.

– 30 –

Source and information:

Media line | 514-832-0871

Original text in French.

Banque publique de lait maternel d’Héma-Québec – Projet pilote à Sherbrooke : 80 donneuses de lait maternel recherchées

Sherbrooke, le 14 novembre 2017 – La Banque publique de lait maternel d’Héma-Québec amorce un projet pilote à Sherbrooke. Ce projet vise d’abord à recruter 80 donneuses d’ici le 31 mars 2018 afin de répondre à la demande grandissante de lait maternel destiné aux grands prématurés.

Pour participer au projet pilote, les mères de la région de l’Estrie, en santé, non-fumeuses, qui allaitent et ont un surplus de lait doivent d’abord s’inscrire à la Banque sur le site Web d’Héma-Québec. Elles doivent également résider à moins d’une heure de route du point de dépôt, le Salon des donneurs de plasma PLASMAVIE, situé au 3200, rue King Ouest, à Sherbrooke.

Les mères qui répondent aux critères de qualification recueillent leur lait à la maison dans les bouteilles fournies par Héma-Québec, le congèlent et le transportent au point de dépôt à leur convenance.

Besoins constants pour aider les grands prématurés

En activité depuis 2014, la Banque publique de lait maternel a pour mandat de fournir du lait humain pasteurisé aux prématurés de 32 semaines et moins, nécessitant des soins médicaux et dont la mère ne peut allaiter.

Le lait de banque permet de réduire en moyenne de 3,3 fois le risque d’entérocolites nécrosantes, une maladie intestinale sévère. De plus, les prématurés atteignent plus facilement un poids satisfaisant, sont moins enclins aux infections et à être hospitalisés à nouveau quand ils sont nourris avec du lait de banque.

Pour répondre à la demande grandissante des équipes de néonatalogie des centres hospitaliers, dont le Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke, Héma-Québec a déjà étendu le recrutement de donneuses de lait maternel aux territoires des communautés métropolitaines de Montréal et de Québec en juin 2016. Malgré tout, la Banque est actuellement en mesure de fournir du lait que pour les prématurés les plus vulnérables, nés à 29 semaines et moins. Il faut donc encore plus de donneuses pour permettre à Héma-Québec de fournir assez de lait maternel à l’ensemble des prématurés de 32 semaines et moins, et le projet pilote à Sherbrooke fait partie de la stratégie.

Comme une mère participant à la Banque publique de lait maternel fournit du lait en moyenne pendant 6 mois, il s’agit d’un perpétuel recommencement : 700 nouvelles donneuses doivent être recrutées chaque année.

Fiche (PDF)

À propos d’Héma-Québec

Héma-Québec a pour mission de répondre avec efficience aux besoins de la population québécoise en sang et autres produits biologiques d’origine humaine de qualité. Héma-Québec, c’est plus de 1 300 employés, près de 165 000 donneurs de sang, plus de 2 000 collectes mobiles par an à travers le Québec, des milliers de bénévoles et plus de 300 000 produits sanguins livrés annuellement aux hôpitaux du Québec pour répondre aux besoins des malades.

Donnez du sang. Donnez la vie.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Héma-Québec
Ligne médias | 514 832-0871
www.hema-quebec.qc.ca