Plasma donor biobank

Tracking plasma donors – Impact on the immune response from the vaccination against SARS-CoV-2 that causes COVID-19

Context

Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, Héma-Québec has been playing a supportive role to the Québec and Canadian health care networks by conducting SARS-CoV-2 seroprevalence studies in blood donors. The biobank and the studies arising from it will be a continuation of this collaboration, by facilitating studies pertaining to the evolution of the COVID-19 pandemic in the context of the deployment of the vaccination.


Description

An expedited COVID-19 vaccination program by the government was introduced in March 2021 in the context of the health emergency in Quebec and aims to immunize the majority of the Quebec population as soon as possible. The speed of immunizing the Quebec population prompted Héma-Québec to quickly recruit a cohort of its frequent plasma donors and accumulate relevant biological samples. These donors give plasma that is intended for fractionation, through a process called apheresis. The biobank consists of 3-mL plasma samples collected at each donation from these plasma donors. The ten Héma-Québec donation centres that collect biobank-dedicated samples from plasma donors are located in Saguenay, Québec City (Lebourgneuf and Sainte-Foy), Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke, Laval, Montreal, Kirkland, Brossard and Gatineau.

Sample collection is continuing for already enrolled participants. At the last count, we had more than 140,000 samples obtained from more than 15,000 individual donors. Data on vaccination and infection events are also collected. All plasma donors who qualified for donating during the recruiting period were included in the biobankif they gave their consent specifically for this project.


Many people give plasma on a regular basis; this provides an opportunity to collect repeat samples and study the response to vaccination or infection over time. The samples collected allow us to gather information before and after vaccination, and in some cases before and after COVID-19 infection, which will contribute to gain a better understanding of the impact of vaccination on the evolution of the pandemic. We anticipate that over the course of the project, which will continue until end of 2022, we may accumulate more than 170,000 plasma samples that will be available for several ongoing and future research projects.


Biobank's objectives

  • To build a cohort of frequent plasma donors who consent to participating in studies in the pre- and post-COVID-19 vaccination context.
  • To systematically collect and store plasma samples obtained from the biobank’s donors.
  • To develop a database that will contain certain information pertaining to the biobank’s donors.
  • To allow internal or external researchers to have access to the biobank’s samples and data for the purpose of conducting studies pertaining to COVID 19.
  • To ensure the diligent management of the biobank, its compliance with confidentiality rules, and the robustness of the process for assessing the scientific quality of research projects.

All of the biobank’s activities, from the recruiting of donors for the cohort to the access process for researchers, are governed by the Management and Governance Framework for the Plasma Donor Biobank.


Timeline

 

* The collection of samples and data could continue depending on research projects and the evolution of the pandemic.


Data collecting

Information about SARS-CoV-2 infection

If a donor agrees to participate in the study, questions on infection are automatically added to the donation qualification medical questionnaire (Infection yes/no, PCR-detected yes/no and PCR date).

Vaccination information

Information about the COVID-19 vaccination is also collected. Questions about vaccination in the medical questionnaire are added (COVID-19 vaccine yes/no, type of vaccine received, number of shots and vaccine date).

Sociodemographic data collected

Socio-demographic information about donors is provided to internal and external researchers who have access to the biobank’s data:

  • Age
  • Sex
  • Location (CLSC, RLS, RSS)
  • Ethnicity
  • Weight/height (body mass index)
  • Certain health conditions or information about the donor: high blood pressure/controlled diabetes/mild asthma, blood type, etc.

The data associated with each sample include the collection date, the collection site, the freezing time and date. The consent process provides for the possibility of using targeted questionnaires as part of research projects accepted by the Héma-Québec Scientific Committee and the Research Ethics Committee (approvals required as outlined the Management and Governance Framework for the Plasma Donor Biobank).


Current studies

Héma-Québec are already taking advantage of the samples collected for the biobank; the Quebec Public Health folks have asked Héma-Québec to design and conduct a third seroprevalence study. For more information on our two previous seroprevalence studies, click here.


Access to biobank

For more information or to know how to apply on the biobank, please contact us.


Participants in the research project

If you have additional questions regarding your rights as a participant in this research project or if you want to file a complaint, you can contact the Ethics Committee secretariat at 514-832-5000, extension 5370 or toll free at 1-888-666-4362, ext. 5370.

Biobanque de donneurs de plasma

Suivi des donneurs de plasma – impact de la vaccination sur la réponse immunitaire contre le SRAS-CoV-2 causant la COVID-19

Contexte

Depuis le début de la pandémie de COVID-19, Héma-Québec soutient les autorités de santé publique en menant des études de séroprévalence sur le SRAS-CoV-2 chez les donneurs de sang. La Biobanque, et les études qui en découlent, s'inscrivent dans la continuité de cette collaboration, en facilitant les recherches portant sur l'évolution de la pandémie de COVID-19 dans le cadre du déploiement de la vaccination.


Description

Un programme de vaccination contre la COVID-19 a été mis en place par le gouvernement en mars 2021 dans le contexte de l'urgence sanitaire au Québec et vise à immuniser la majorité de la population québécoise le plus tôt possible. La rapidité avec laquelle cette stratégie d'immunisation de la population québécoise a été déployée a incité Héma-Québec à recruter une cohorte de ses donneurs assidus de plasma et à accumuler des échantillons biologiques avant la vaccination de masse. Ces personnes donnent du plasma destiné au fractionnement, par un processus appelé aphérèse. La biobanque est constituée d'échantillons de plasma de 3 ml prélevés à chaque don. Les dix centres de donneurs de sang et de plasma d'Héma-Québec qui prélèvent les échantillons sont situés à Saguenay, Québec (Lebourgneuf et Sainte-Foy) Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke, Laval, Montréal, Kirkland, Brossard et Gatineau.

La collecte d'échantillons se poursuit; au dernier décompte, plus de 60 000 échantillons ont été prélevés auprès de quelques 12 000 donneurs individuels. Des données sur les événements de vaccination et d'infection sont également collectées. Tous les donneurs de plasma admissibles au don durant la période de recrutement sont inclus dans la biobanque s'ils donnent leur consentement. Certains des critères d'admissibilité sont disponibles sur le site Web d'Héma-Québec. La liste complète se trouve dans le manuel des critères du don de sang, accessible ici

Plusieurs personnes donnent régulièrement du plasma; cela permet de prélever des échantillons de façon régulière et d'étudier la réponse à la vaccination ou à l'infection au fil du temps. Les échantillons prélevés permettent de collecter des informations avant et après la vaccination, et dans certains cas avant et après l'infection au COVID-19, ce qui contribuera à mieux comprendre l'incidence de la vaccination sur l'évolution de la pandémie. Il est prévu qu'au cours du projet, qui se poursuivra jusqu'en 2022, nous pourrions accumuler plus de 100 000 échantillons de plasma qui seront disponibles pour plusieurs projets de recherche en cours et à venir.


Objectifs de la biobanque

  • Construire une cohorte de donneurs de plasma fréquents qui consentent à participer à des études dans le contexte de la vaccination pré- et post-COVID-19.
  • Recueillir et conserver systématiquement les échantillons de plasma obtenus auprès des donneurs de la biobanque.
  • Développer une base de données qui contiendra certaines informations relatives aux donneurs de la biobanque.
  • Permettre aux chercheurs internes ou externes d'avoir accès aux échantillons et données de la biobanque dans le but de mener des études relatives au COVID-19.
  • Assurer la gestion diligente de la biobanque, son respect des règles de confidentialité et la robustesse du processus d'évaluation de la qualité scientifique des projets de recherche.

Toutes les activités de la biobanque, du recrutement des donneurs pour la cohorte au processus d'accès des chercheurs, sont régies par le Cadre de gestion et de gouvernance de la biobanque des donneurs de plasma.


Calendrier

* La collecte d'échantillons et de données pourrait se poursuivre en fonction des projets de recherche et de l'évolution de la pandémie.


Collecte de données

Informations sur l’infection SRAS-CoV-2

Si un donneur accepte de participer à l'étude, des questions sur l'infection sont automatiquement ajoutées au questionnaire médical de qualification au don (infection oui/non, détection PCR oui/non et date du dépistage PCR).

Informations sur la vaccination

Des informations sur la vaccination COVID-19 sont également collectées. Des questions sur la vaccination dans le questionnaire médical sont ajoutées (vaccin COVID-19 oui/non, type de vaccin reçu, nombre de vaccins et date de vaccination).

Données sociodémographiques

Des informations sociodémographiques sur les donneurs sont fournies aux chercheurs internes et externes qui ont accès aux données de la biobanque :

  • Âge
  • Sexe
  • Localisation (CLSC, RLS, RSS)
  • Ethnicité
  • Poids/taille (indice de masse corporelle)
  • Certains états de santé ou informations sur le donneur : hypertension artérielle/diabète contrôlé/asthme léger, groupe sanguin, etc.

Les données associées à chaque échantillon comprennent la date de prélèvement, le site de prélèvement, l'heure et la date de congélation.

Le processus de consentement prévoit la possibilité d'utiliser des questionnaires ciblés dans le cadre de projets de recherche acceptés par le comité scientifique d'Héma-Québec et le comité d'éthique de la recherche (approbations requises selon le Cadre de gestion et de gouvernance de la biobanque des donneurs de plasma).


Études en cours

Héma-Québec profite déjà des échantillons prélevés pour la biobanque. La santé publique du Québec a demandé à Héma-Québec de concevoir et de mener une troisième étude de séroprévalence. Pour plus d'informations sur nos deux précédentes études, cliquez ici.


Accès à la biobanque

Pour avoir plus d’information ou savoir comment appliquer pour avoir accès à la biobanque, contactez-nous.


Participants à l'étude

Si vous avez des questions supplémentaires concernant vos droits en tant que participant à ce projet de recherche ou si vous avez une plainte à formuler, vous pouvez communiquer avec le secrétariat du comité d’éthique au 514 832-5000, poste 5370 ou sans frais au 1 888 666-4362, poste 5370.