Steps from registration to donation

Due to the COVID-19 situation, partner hospital centres, except for the Cité-de-la-Santé de Laval and the CHU Sainte-Justine, stopped, as of March 25 and until further notice, collecting cord blood for the Public Cord Blood Bank.

Registrations for donating cord blood are continuing for due dates in 2020 and 2021, exclusively at the Cité-de-la-Santé de Laval and the CHU Sainte-Justine. For all the other partner centres, it’s possible to register only for due dates in 2021.

You decided to give the umbilical cord blood of your child at birth? This precious donation will be made in three steps.

1. THE REGISTRATION

Pregnant women eligible to register to the Public Cord Blood Bank must:

You can obtain more information by calling 1-800-565-6635 or 514-832-5000, ext. 5253 or by sending an email to cordblood@hema-quebec.qc.ca.

2. THE QUALIFICATION PROCESS

A selection process has been developed for future mothers who wish to donate umbilical cord blood of their babies. It aims to ensure their own safety, that of the unborn child and that of the person receiving the transplant. The selection process takes about 15 minutes.

3. THE DONATION

The collection of umbilical cord blood requires 3 to 5 minutes and is safe for the child and the mother. The cord blood is collected after the birth of the child, once the umbilical cord is cut, but before placental expulsion. The mother and the child feel no effect.

Les étapes de l'inscription au don

En raison de la situation liée à la COVID-19, les centres hospitaliers partenaires, à l’exception de la Cité-de-la-Santé de Laval et du CHU Sainte-Justine, ont cessé depuis le 25 mars dernier, et pour une durée indéterminée, d’effectuer les prélèvements de sang de cordon pour la Banque publique de sang de cordon.

Les inscriptions au don de sang de cordon sont maintenues pour les accouchements prévus en 2020 et en 2021, exclusivement à la Cité-de-la-Santé de Laval et au CHU Sainte-Justine. Pour tous les autres centres partenaires, il est possible de s’inscrire uniquement pour les accouchements prévus en 2021.

Vous souhaitez donner le sang de cordon de votre bébé à sa naissance? Ce précieux don se fait en trois étapes:

1. L'INSCRIPTION

Profil recherché

Avez-vous le profil recherché? Voici les étapes à suivre pour vous inscrire à la Banque publique de sang de cordon :

Des questions?

2. LE PROCESSUS DE QUALIFICATION


Un processus de qualification a été élaboré pour les futures mères désireuses de donner le sang de cordon ombilical de leur bébé. Ce processus vise à assurer leur propre sécurité, celle de l'enfant à naître et celle de la personne recevant la greffe. Le processus de qualification prend environ 15 minutes.

3. LE DON

 
Le prélèvement du sang de cordon ombilical nécessite de 3 à 5 minutes, et est sans danger pour l’enfant et pour la mère. Il se fait après la naissance de l’enfant, une fois le cordon ombilical coupé, mais avant l’expulsion placentaire. La mère et l’enfant n’en ressentent aucun effet.