Press releases

  • Creation of a no-fault compensation regime

    Everyone wins

    Montreal, December 16, 2009

    President and Chief Executive Officer of Héma-Québec, Dr. Francine Décary, welcomes the adoption of a bill creating a no-fault compensation regime for eventual victims of blood transfusions, grafts of human tissues or stem cells distributed by Héma-Québec. Quebec is the first Canadian province to adopt such a plan, which is intended to guarantee equitable compensation for all.

  • Grands prix québécois de la qualité

    Héma-Québec amongst the best-performing organizations in Québec

    Montréal, November 12, 2009

    During a ceremony held today at Montréal’s Palais des congrès, Mr. Clément Gignac, Minister of Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation, presented Héma-Québec president and Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Francine Décary, with a Grande Mention as part of the 2009 Grands Prix québécois de la qualité.

  • Blood donations and the A(H1N1) flu vaccine

    Montreal, October 27, 2009

    In response to the current A(H1N1) flu pandemic, Héma-Québec has reactivated its contingency plan with the goal of continuing to efficiently provide blood components and substitutes to Québec hospitals.

  • 1,000th blood donation sets a new Canadian record!

    Michel Thérien is honoured by Héma-Québec

    Montréal, October 26, 2009

    Blood donation has reached new heights. Michel Thérien, Héma-Québec’s most prolific blood donor, rolled up his sleeves for the 1,000th time—something that has never been done before in Canada!

  • Héma-Québec obtains European patent for inventing method to isolate immunoglobulin fractions with unique biochemical properties

    Montreal, September 11, 2009

    The European Patent Office (EPO), the organization responsible for examining and issuing patents in Europe, has granted a patent* to HémaQuébec entitled Purification of polyreactive autoantibodies and uses thereof.

  • Agreement between Safe Blood for Africa Foundation and Héma-Québec to support blood safety and blood donor program in Africa

    Montréal, September 9, 2009

    Safe Blood for Africa Foundation (SBFA) and Héma-Québec are pleased to announce the signing of a formal agreement to support blood safety and blood donor programs in Africa. In particular, Héma-Québec offered these services to SBFA to expand their capacity to provide its expertise for greater reach to initiativesin francophone African countries.

  • Héma-Québec announces implementation of a new blood donation method at Globule Blood Donor Centres

    Montréal, August 31, 2009

    Héma-Québec announces the implement of apheresis double red cell donation beginning today at Laurier Québec Globule Blood Donor Centre in Sainte-Foy. A first in Canada, double red blood cell donation will be introduced progressively at Montréal’s Place Versailles and Laval’s Centre Laval Globule Blood Donor Centres.

  • Héma-Québec obtains Canadian patent for cord blood cells culture invention

    Montreal, August 27, 2009

    The Canadian Intellectual Property Office granted Héma Québec a patent* entitled “A New Method of Expanding Cord Blood Cells” on July 14. Héma-Québec obtained a similar patent in the United States on November 18, 2008.

  • The need for blood doesn't stop during summer vacation

    Montréal, July 13, 2009

    Héma-Québec’s summer campaign, This summer, go short-sleeved!, was launched on June 15, and is ongoing until September 6. Héma-Québec would like to remind you that it is essential to maintain the Québec blood reserve at a sufficient level.

  • National Blood Donor Week Voluntary blood donation: keeping us safe

    Montreal, June 7, 2009

    During the 2nd annual National Blood Donor Week, from June 8 to 14, Héma-Québec wishes to highlight the importance of blood donation and thank all the people who contribute to its mission.

  • Chagas Disease

    Héma-Québec implements a new measure to ensure the safety of the blood product supply

    Montreal, May 27, 2009

    Since March 29, 2009, blood donors have had to meet a new blood donor eligibility criterion regarding Chagas disease, an infectious illness rife in Mexico and in Central and South America*, that can be transmitted through blood transfusion.

  • Public Cord Blood Bank

    New partner hospitals stand out

    Montreal, May 7, 2009

    Thanks to the continued commitment of its seven partner hospitals, the Héma-Québec Public Cord Blood Bank is rapidly expanding. Since early 2009, the three newest members of the network have performed exceptionally well. Their combined registration numbers account for half of the Public Cord Blood Bank’s annual registration objective.

  • INFLUENZA A (H1N1) Héma-Québec prepares for possible pandemic

    Montreal, May 1, 2009

    Héma-Québec—Québec’s blood products supplier—is preparing for an influenza A (H1N1) pandemic in order to reduce the impact on donors, personnel, and volunteers.

  • Héma-Québec highlights volunteers’ commitment to the cause of blood donation

    Montreal, April 20, 2009

    “Volunteering comes in many shapes and forms in the daily operations of an organization like ours. Thousands of volunteers work alongside members of the Héma Québec team, devoting their time, energy and passion to maintaining Quebec’s blood supply. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Héma-Québec could not accomplish its mission without each and every one these people, who make giving blood and giving life possible,” stated Dr. Francine Décary, Héma-Québec President and Chief Executive Officer, to highlight National Volunteer Week 2009.

  • Héma-Québec reminds everyone of the importance of declaring your consent to organ and tissue donation

    Montreal, April 20, 2009

    As part of National Organ and Tissue Donation week from April 19 26, 2009, Héma-Québec is joining the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Quebec-Transplant and the Chambre des notaires in their efforts to encourage all Quebec citizens to notify loved ones of their desire to donate their organs and tissues upon death.

  • Blood Donor Centre and Québec City establishment pass inspections

    Montreal, April 03, 2009

    Héma-Québec welcomed Health Canada inspectors at its Québec City establishment and its Place Laurier Québec GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre from January 19 to 23, 2009, to conduct an inspection of its facilities. Following this visit, Health Canada renewed the establishment licences of both facilities.

  • Héma-Québec’s Montréal facility and one of its Blood Donor Centres pass inspection

    Montréal, February 25, 2009

    Héma-Québec’s Montréal facility and Place Versailles GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre have successfully passed inspection. Health Canada has therefore renewed the Establishment Licence of each facility. This annual audit process ran from October 27 to November 7, 2008.

  • A Blood Donor Centre at Centre Laval

    Laval, January 20th, 2009

    Citizens of Laval and of Montreal’s North Shore now have another way to save lives. There was an official ceremony today to celebrate the opening of a new GLOBULE Blood Donor Centre at our new premises at Centre Laval. Héma-Québec’s personnel and volunteers have been welcoming donors to the centre since December 15th.

Communiqués 2009

  • Création d’un régime d’indemnisation sans égard à la responsabilité

    Tout le monde y gagne

    Montréal, le 16 décembre 2009

    La présidente et chef de la direction d’Héma-Québec, Dr Francine Décary, salue l’adoption du projet de loi créant un régime d'indemnisation sans égard à la responsabilité pour d'éventuelles victimes de transfusions sanguines, de greffes de tissus humains ou de cellules souches distribués par Héma-Québec. Le Québec est la première province canadienne à se doter d’un tel régime, qui a pour objectif principal de garantir à tous une indemnisation équitable.

  • Héma-Québec parmi les organisations les plus performantes au Québec

    Lauréate des Grands Prix québécois de la qualité

    Montréal, le 12 novembre 2009

    La présidente et chef de la direction d’Héma-Québec, Dr Francine Décary, a reçu des mains du ministre du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation, M. Clément Gignac, une Grande Mention dans le cadre de l’édition 2009 des Grands Prix québécois de la qualité lors d’une cérémonie tenue aujourd’hui au Palais des congrès de Montréal.

  • Le don de sang et la vaccination contre la grippe A(H1N1)

    Montréal, le 27 octobre 2009

    Face à l’actuelle pandémie de grippe A(H1N1), Héma-Québec a réactivé son plan de contingence dans le but de continuer à fournir avec efficience des composants et substituts sanguins aux centres hospitaliers du Québec.

  • Record canadien: 1000e don de sang pour Michel Thérien!

    Michel Thérien reçoit les honneurs d’Héma-Québec

    Montréal, le 26 octobre 2009 - Le don de sang atteint un nouveau sommet. Michel Thérien, le plus grand donneur de sang d’Héma-Québec a tendu le bras pour la 1000e fois, un exploit encore inégalé au Canada!

  • Héma-Québec obtient un brevet européen pour l’invention d’une méthode permettant d’isoler des fractions d’immunoglobulines aux propriétés biochimiques uniques

    Montréal, le 11 septembre 2009

    L’Office européen des brevets (OEB), organisme responsable de l’examen et de l’émission des brevets en Europe, a annoncé la délivrance à Héma-Québec du brevet* intitulé « Purification of polyreactive autoantibodies and uses thereof. »

  • La sécurité des produits sanguins et le recrutement de donneurs de sang dans les pays d’Afrique : Héma-Québec et la Fondation

    Montréal, 9 septembre 2009

    La Fondation Safe Blood for Africa(SBFA) et Héma-Québec annoncent la signature d’un accord qui vise à promouvoir la sécurité des produits sanguins et le développement de programmes de donneurs de sang dans les pays d’Afrique, et ce, particulièrement dans les pays d’Afrique francophones. Ce qui permettra à la SBFA de proposer son expertise à une plus grande échelle.

  • Nouveau mode de prélèvement des dons de sang dans les Centres Globule

    Montréal, le 31 août 2009

    Héma-Québec annonce qu’elle effectue, à compter d’aujourd’hui, le prélèvement de doubles dons de globules rouges dans son Centre des donneurs de sang globule de la Place Laurier Québec, situé dans l’arrondissement Sainte-Foy. Les doubles dons de globules rouges constituent une première canadienne et se feront sur une base progressive dans les Centres des donneurs de sang globule du Centre Laval, à Laval, et de la Place Versailles, à Montréal.

  • Héma-Québec obtient un brevet canadien pour une invention relative à la culture de cellules de sang ombilical

    Montréal, le 27 août 2009

    Le 14 juillet dernier, l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada a octroyé à Héma-Québec un brevet* intitulé « Nouveau procédé d'expansion de cellules de sang ombilical. » Ce brevet fait suite à l’obtention d’un brevet équivalent aux États-Unis, le 18 novembre 2008.

  • L'été, il n'y a pas de vacances pour les besoins en sang

    Montréal, le 13 juillet 2009

    Lancée le 15 juin sur le thème Cet été, portez vos manches courtes, la campagne estivale d’Héma-Québec suit son cours jusqu’au 6 septembre. Héma-Québec rappelle qu’il est primordial de maintenir la réserve de sang des Québécois à un niveau suffisant.

  • Semaine nationale du don de sang

    Montréal, le 7 juin 2009

    À l’occasion de la 2e édition de la Semaine nationale du don de sang, qui se déroule du 8 au 14 juin, Héma-Québec souhaite rappeler l’importance du don de sang et remercie tous les artisans qui rendent possible la réalisation de sa mission.

  • Maladie de Chagas : Héma-Québec implante un nouveau critère d'admissibilité au don de sang

     Héma-Québec implante une nouvelle mesure pour assurer

    Montréal, le 27 mai 2009

    Depuis le 29 mars dernier, les donneurs de sang doivent répondre à un nouveau critère d’admissibilité au don de sang portant sur la maladie de Chagas, une maladie infectieuse sévissant au Mexique, en Amérique Centrale et en Amérique du Sud* et pouvant être transmise par transfusion sanguine.

  • Banque publique de sang de cordon : les nouveaux centres hospitaliers partenaires se distinguent

    Les nouveaux centres hospitaliers partenaires se distinguent

    Montréal, le 7 mai 2009

    La Banque publique de sang de cordon d’Héma Québec affiche une croissance accélérée grâce à l’engagement soutenu de ses 7 centres hospitaliers partenaires. Les trois plus récents partenaires de ce réseau ont affiché une performance exceptionnelle depuis le début de l’année 2009, en cumulant à eux seuls la moitié de l’objectif annuel d’inscriptions à la Banque publique de sang de cordon.

  • Grippe A (H1N1) : Héma-Québec se prépare à la pandémie

    Héma-Québec se prépare à la pandémie

    Montréal, le 1er mai 2009

    Héma-Québec, le fournisseur de produits sanguins du Québec, se prépare à la pandémie de grippe A (H1N1) afin d’en réduire les impacts auprès des donneurs, de son personnel et des bénévoles.

  • Héma-Québec souligne le dévouement des bénévoles envers la cause du don de sang

    Héma-Québec souligne le dévouement des bénévoles envers la cause du don du sang

    Montréal, le 20 avril 2009

    « L’action bénévole s’exprime sous différente forme et prend plusieurs visages dans le quotidien d’une organisation comme la nôtre. Des milliers de bénévoles travaillent aux côtés des membres de l’équipe d’Héma-Québec et consacrent de leur temps, de leur énergie et de leur passion au maintien de la réserve de sang collective. Je l’ai souvent dit et je le répéterai toujours, Héma-Québec ne pourrait réaliser sa mission humanitaire sans chacune de ces personnes qui rendent possible le don de sang et le don de vie ». C’est en ces termes que Dr Francine Décary, présidente et chef de la direction d’Héma-Québec, a tenu à souligner l’édition 2009 de la Semaine de l’action bénévole.

  • Héma-Québec rappelle l’importance de faire connaître son consentement au don d’organes et de tissus

    Héma-Québec rappelle l’importance de faire connaître son consentement au don d’organes et de tissus

    Montréal, le 20 avril 2009

    Dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale du don d’organes et de tissus, qui se déroule du 19 au 26 avril 2009, Héma-Québec joint sa voix à celle du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, de Québec-Transplant et de la Chambre des notaires pour inciter chaque Québécois à dire à leurs proches leur volonté de faire don, à leur décès, de leurs organes et tissus.

  • Santé Canada : Inspections réussies pour le Centre des donneurs de sang et l’établissement de Québec

    Inspections réussies pour le Centre des donneurs de sang et l’établissement de Québec

    Montréal, le 3 avril 2009

    Du 19 au 23 janvier dernier, Héma-Québec accueillait les auditeurs de Santé Canada à son établissement de Québec et à son Centre des donneurs de sang GLOBULE de la Place Laurier Québec afin de procéder aux inspections de ses installations. Au terme de cette visite, les deux licences d’établissement ont été reconduites par Santé Canada.

  • L’établissement Héma-Québec de Montréal et son Centre Globule Place Versailles réussissent l'inspection annuelle

    Montréal, le 25 février 2009

    Héma-Québec a subi avec succès l’inspection annuelle à son établissement de Montréal, de même qu’à son Centre des donneurs de sang GLOBULE de la Place Versailles. Par le fait même, Santé Canada a reconduit la licence d’établissement de chacune de ces installations. Cette visite annuelle de vérification des procédés s'est déroulée du 27 octobre au 7 novembre 2008.

  • Un centre de donneurs de sang au Centre Laval

    Laval, le 20 janvier 2009

    Les citoyens de la région de Laval et de la Rive-Nord de Montréal ont une autre façon de sauver des vies. Une cérémonie officielle est venue souligner aujourd’hui l’ouverture d’un nouveau centre de donneurs de sang GLOBULE, dans le tout nouvel espace situé au Centre Laval. Le personnel et les bénévoles d’Héma-Québec y accueillent les donneurs depuis le 15 décembre dernier.