Press Releases

  • Héma-Québec’s holiday campaign makes good headway

    Montréal, December 29, 2003

    Héma-Québec invites the population to donate blood during the holiday season. To date, more than 23,000 people have given blood at one of the 150 blood clinics held throughout Québec.

  • 35,000 blood donors expected during Héma-Québec’s holiday campaign

    Montréal, December 1, 2003

    Under this year's theme of From Me to You, Héma-Québec's holiday season campaign will take place from December 1, 2003 to January 11, 2004. During this time, Héma-Québec hopes to welcome 35,000 donors at the some 200 blood drives that will be organized with community partners throughout Québec.

  • “It’s in your blood”, a new Globule in Quebec City

    Quebec City, November 12, 2003

    The first Globule Blood Donor Centre in Quebec City has recently opened in the heart of the Place Laurier shopping centre. With the theme “It’s in your blood”, Héma-Québec permanently welcomes donors from the Quebec City area in a pleasant, warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Héma-Québec joins the Canadian Armed Forces for a blood donation operation

    Montreal, November 3, 2003

    Héma-Québec is joining the Canadian Armed Forces in a blood donation campaign across the country from November 11, 2003 to January 12, 2004. This campaign is being held for the second year and is organized in collaboration with the Canadian Blood Services and the Canadian Armed Forces.

  • Héma-Québec celebrates its fifth anniversary

    Montréal, September 29, 2003

    Héma-Québec, supplier of blood components and substitutes and human tissues, is celebrating the fifth anniversary of its founding. On September 28, 1998, Héma-Québec started its activities, in keeping with a mandate from the Québec Minister of Health and Social Services.

  • The Héma-Québec team will participate in Festival de la santé sporting activities

    Montréal, September 12, 2003

    Héma-Québec employees and volunteers as well as blood donors and transfusion recipients will participate in the various sporting activities being organized as part of the Festival de la Santé Oasis and the Montreal International Marathon. Héma-Québec is a partner in the 2003 edition of the Festival that will be held this Sunday, September 14.

  • This summer, some 83,000 individuals made a gift of life

    Montréal, Monday, September 8, 2003

    Some 83,000 individuals accepted Héma-Québec's invitation, and that of its community partners, to give blood. During this summer campaign, which took place from June 2 until September 7, 2003, Héma-Québec was on the way and met vacationers at 500 blood drives organized with the help of hundreds of volunteers.

  • This summer, 42,000 people have made a gift of life

    Montréal, Tuesday, July 22, 2003

    Quebeckers are invited to donate blood as generously as possible during the summer vacation period. Since the beginning of the This summer, we're on the way campaign on June 2, Héma-Québec - with the help of its community partners - has welcomed nearly 42,000 blood donors at blood clinics that have been held throughout Québec. More than 7,000 individuals are expected to give blood each week from now until September 7.

  • West Nile Virus : Héma-Québec confirms implementation of commercial test

    Montréal, Wednesday, June 25, 2003

    Héma-Québec confirmed it has implemented the commercial test used to detect the presence of the West Nile Virus (WNV) in donated blood. All donated blood taken today will be analysed with this test, which was developed by Roche Diagnostics and which will replace the in-house test developed by Héma-Québec's R&D division. Since June 18, all blood components produced by Héma-Québec have been tested for the presence of the WNV using this in-house test.

  • This summer, more than 7,000 donors are hoped for each week

    Montréal, Friday, June 20, 2003

    In anticipation of the coming two long weekends, Quebeckers are invited to give blood generously. Since the June2 start of the This summer, we're on the way campaign, Héma-Québec has welcomed some 17,000 blood donors on their chaise lounges at mobile blood drives that have been organized with the help of community partners.

  • West Nile Virus Héma-Québec confirms implementing a WNV test

    Montréal, Tuesday, June 17, 2003

    It is confirmed. As announced in the press release dated June 9, Héma-Québec has developed an in-house test to detect the presence of the West Nile Virus (WNV) in donated blood. As of yesterday, June 16, a test developed by Héma-Québec's Research and Development division is being used on all blood donated in the Québec City area and in Eastern Québec. The test will be put into use starting tomorrow, June 18, in the Montréal area and in Western Québec. In other words, all blood components produced by Héma-Québec will be tested for the presence of the WNV beginning June 18. Moreover, it should also be noted that the implementation of a commercial test developed by Roche Diagnostics is still slated for July 1, 2003, or earlier.

  • Héma-Québec launches 1 877 VNO-HÉMA

    Montréal, Monday, June 9, 2003

    As part of its action plan to counter the effects of the West Nile Virus (WNV) on Québec's blood reserve, Héma-Québec has set up a special telephone line for people with questions about the effects of WNV on blood. Those interested can dial 1 877 VNO-HÉMA (1 877 866-4362) from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, and from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday.

  • Strike avoided at Héma-Québec

    Montréal, June 5, 2003

     n the course of the past few hours, Héma-Québec and the Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs de Héma-Québec - Montréal (CSN) have reached an agreement in principle, following negotiations led by the conciliator appointed by the Ministre du Travail. This agreement must be approved during the next general assembly of union members.

  • Héma-Québec at Université Laval

    Québec City, June 4, 2003

    The rector of Université Laval, Michel Pigeon, and the chairman of Héma-Québec’s Board of Directors, Claude Pichette, today unveiled a model of the new centre that will house Héma-Québec on the University’s campus. The $13,935,000 building, to be built by the Merlin-Pomerleau consortium, will bring together all of the organization’s activities in the Québec City region under one roof. Under the terms of a 30-year emphyteutic lease, Université Laval has turned over a 7,300-square-metre area located southwest of the Ferdinand-Vandry pavilion to the project.

  • This summer, Héma-Québec invites 91,000 donors to take a moment to give the gift of life

    Montréal, Monday June 2, 2003

    Everyone is invited to generously donate blood from June 2 to September 7. To meet the blood component needs of patients in Québec hospitals during the summer season, Héma-Québec hopes to welcome some 91,000 blood donors. This year, clinics will be held under the theme This summer, we're on the way. Héma-Québec's team will be meeting vacationers at one of the 500 mobile clinics organized in partnership with communities throughout the province.

  • Héma-Québec invites the population to donate blood

    Montréal, Monday, May 26, 2003

    Héma-Québec invites the population to donate blood on Monday, May 26. It is important to note that the 24-hour strike scheduled for Monday, May 26 does not affect all of Héma-Québec's employees. Affected employees include Montréal's blood drive assistants and drivers, who account for 210 of Héma-Québec's 1280 employees. Furthermore, since Héma-Québec is subject to the Act respecting essential services, 80% of all blood drive assistants and drivers will be on the job on Monday, May 26. The remaining blood drive employees are not affiliated with the same union and will consequently not be on strike. Thus, all of our nurses will be available to welcome blood donors.

  • Héma-Québec celebrates World Blood Donation Day on May 23, 2003

    Montréal, May 23, 2003

    Today, Héma-Québec-Québec's blood supplier-is celebrating World Blood Donation Day. This day has been set aside to emphasize the importance of donating blood, a precious and unique liquid.

  • West Nile Virus: Héma-Québec announces the measures to ensure the safety of the blood reserve for Quebec patients

    Montreal, Tuesday, May 20, 2003

    Héma-Québec has developed a test to detect the West Nile Virus (WNV) directly in the blood of all donors. As of June 9, a PCR test developed by Héma-Québec's Research and Development group will be used until the Roche Diagnostics test is implemented on July 1. The two tests are part of an action plan developed by Héma-Québec to counter the effects of the West Nile Virus on the Quebec blood reserve.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC gives notice to the CSN

    Montréal, May 13, 2003

    Héma-Québec has just issued two formal notices: one to Mr. Arthur Sandborn, President of the Conseil central du Montréal métropolitain (CCMM-CSN), and the second to Ms. Lise Pariseau, President of the Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses d'Héma-Québec.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC's Montréal facility passes annual inspection

    Montréal, April 7, 2003

    Héma-Québec has once again passed its annual inspection. Consequently, inspectors from the Blood Establishment Regulation Division (BERD) - a branch of Health Canada - maintained Héma-Québec's operating licence following the yearly procedural audit, which took place at the Montréal facility between March 10 and 14, 2003.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC and Sainte-Justine join forces to launch a public umbilical cord blood bank program in Québec

    Montréal, January 29, 2003

    Héma-Québec and the Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine today announced preparations for a public umbilical cord blood bank program in Québec. Umbilical cord blood can be used in place of conventional bone marrow transplants in patients with fatal illnesses. The goal of the program is to provide Québec children, including those from various ethnic populations, awaiting bone marrow transplants with increased accessibility to cord blood. This will be the first and only public umbilical cord blood bank in Québec.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC update

    Montréal, January 28, 2003

    As part of the process of renewing the collective agreements with its eight different employee unions, Héma-Québec and union representatives began interest-based bargaining in the spring of 2000.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC's holiday campaign : a tremendous success

    Montréal, January 6, 2003

    Some 28,000 donors accepted Héma-Québec's invitation to give blood during its holiday campaign, held between December 2, 2002 and January 5, 2003. This campaign was certainly a tremendous success, as the turnout was close to 98% of the original target of 28,600 donors.

Communiqués 2003

  • La campagne du temps des fêtes d’Héma-Québec va bon train

    Montréal, le 29 décembre 2003

    La population est invitée à donner généreusement du sang pendant la période du temps des fêtes. Jusqu'à maintenant, plus de 23 000 personnes ont fait un don de sang à l'occasion des 150 collectes tenues partout au Québec.

  • 35 000 donneurs de sang attendus lors de la campagne du temps des fêtes

    Montréal, le 1er décembre 2003

    C'est sur le thème À vous de moi que se déroulera la campagne du temps des fêtes d'Héma-Québec. Du 1er décembre 2003 au 11 janvier 2004, Héma-Québec espère accueillir 35 000 donneurs de sang lors des quelque 200 collectes de sang organisées avec des partenaires de la communauté sur tout le territoire québécois.

  • «Vous avez de la veine», un nouveau GLOBULE à Québec

    Québec, le 12 novembre 2003

    Le premier centre des donneurs de sang GLOBULE de la ville de Québec a récemment ouvert ses portes au cœur même du centre commercial Place Laurier. C'est sur le thème « Vous avez de la veine » qu'Héma-Québec accueille en permanence les donneurs de la région de Québec dans un environnement agréable, chaleureux et convivial.

  • Héma-Québec s’associe à l’opération de don de sang des Forces armées canadiennes

    Montréal, le 3 novembre 2003

    Héma-Québec est partenaire de la campagne de don de sang des Forces armées canadiennes, qui se déroulera à travers le pays à compter du 11 novembre 2003 jusqu'au 12 janvier 2004. Cette campagne organisée en collaboration avec la Société canadienne du sang et les Forces armées canadiennes en est à sa deuxième édition.

  • Héma-Québec célèbre cinq ans d’activités

    Montréal, le 29 septembre 2003

    Héma-Québec, fournisseur de composants, de substituts sanguins et de tissus humains, célèbre son cinquième anniversaire de création. C’est précisément le 28 septembre 1998, qu’Héma-Québec entreprenait ses activités dans le cadre du mandat que venait de lui confier le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec.

  • L'équipe d'Héma-Québec participera aux activités sportives du Festival de la santé

    Montréal, le 12 septembre 2003

    Des employés et des bénévoles d’Héma-Québec ainsi que des donneurs de sang et des receveurs de transfusions sanguines participeront aux diverses activités sportives dans le cadre du Festival de la Santé OASIS et du Marathon international de Montréal. Héma-Québec est partenaire de l’édition 2003 du Festival qui aura lieu ce dimanche 14 septembre.

  • Cet été, près de 83 000 personnes ont fait une halte pour la vie

    Montréal, le 8 septembre 2003

    Près de 83 000 personnes ont accepté l'invitation d'Héma-Québec et des partenaires du milieu à l'effet de donner du sang. Pendant sa campagne estivale qui s'est déroulée du 2juin au 7 septembre 2003, Héma-Québec a été sur la route des donneurs dans le cadre des 500 collectes organisées grâce à la participation de centaines de bénévoles.

  • Cet été, 42 000 personnes ont fait une halte pour la vie

    Montréal, le mardi 22 juillet 2003

    Pendant la période des vacances, la population est invitée à donner généreusement du sang. Depuis le 2 juin dernier, date du début de la campagne Cet été, nous serons sur votre route, Héma-Québec a accueilli, avec l’aide des partenaires du milieu, près de 42 000 donneurs de sang lors des collectes organisées partout au Québec. Jusqu’au 7 septembre prochain, plus de 7 000 donneurs de sang sont attendus chaque semaine.

  • Le virus du Nil occidental : Héma-Québec confirme la mise en place du test commercial

    Montréal, le mercredi 25 juin 2003

    Héma-Québec confirme la mise en place du test commercial permettant la détection du virus du Nil occidental (VNO) dans le sang des donneurs. En effet, tous les dons de sang prélevés à compter d'aujourd'hui seront analysés avec le test produit par la compagnie Roche Diagnostics qui remplacera le test maison développé par le groupe de R&D d'Héma-Québec. Rappelons que, depuis le 18 juin dernier, tous les composants sanguins produits par Héma-Québec ont été testés pour le VNO grâce à ce test maison.

  • Cet été, plus de 7 000 donneurs sont attendus chaque semaine

    Montréal, le vendredi 20 juin 2003

    En prévision des deux prochains longs congés, la population est invitée à donner généreusement du sang. Depuis le début de la campagne Cet été, nous serons sur votre route, le 2 juin dernier, Héma-Québec a accueilli quelque 17 000 donneurs de sang sur les chaises longues des collectes mobiles organisées avec les partenaires du milieu.

  • Le virus du Nil occidental : Héma-Québec confirme la mise en place d’un test de détection

    Montréal, le mardi 17 juin 2003

    C'est confirmé. Tel qu'annoncé par communiqué le 9 juin dernier, Héma-Québec a mis au point un test maison permettant la détection du virus du Nil occidental (VNO) dans le sang des donneurs. En effet, un test, développé par le groupe de Recherche & développement d'Héma-Québec, est utilisé depuis hier, le 16 juin 2003, sur tous les dons de sang prélevés dans la région de Québec et de l'Est du Québec. Le test sera mis en place à compter de demain, 18 juin 2003, pour ce qui est de Montréal et de l'Ouest du Québec. C'est donc dire que tous les composants sanguins produits par Héma-Québec seront testés pour le VNO à compter du 18 juin. Par ailleurs, soulignons que la mise en place d'un test commercial produit par la compagnie Roche Diagnostics est prévue pour le 1er juillet 2003 ou avant.

  • Héma-Québec lance le 1 877 VNO-HÉMA

    Montréal, le lundi 9 juin 2003

    Dans le cadre de son plan d'action pour contrer les effets du virus du Nil occidental (VNO) sur la réserve de sang des Québécois, Héma-Québec a créé une ligne téléphonique spéciale pour les personnes s'interrogeant sur l'incidence du VNO sur le sang. On peut donc composer le 1 877 VNO-HÉMA (1 877 866-4362) de 8 h 30 à 20 h 30 du lundi au vendredi et de 10 h à 16 h les samedi et dimanche.

  • Grève évitée chez Héma-Québec

    Montréal, le 5 juin 2003

    Héma-Québec et le Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs de Héma-Québec à Montréal (C.S.N.) sont parvenus à une entente de principe au cours des dernières heures, à l’issue de négociations devant le conciliateur nommé par le ministre du Travail. Cette entente doit être entérinée lors d’une prochaine assemblée générale des membres.

  • Héma-Québec sur le site de l’Université Laval

    Québec, le 4 juin 2003

    Le recteur de l'Université Laval, Michel Pigeon, et le président du conseil d'administration d'Héma-Québec, Claude Pichette, ont procédé aujourd'hui au dévoilement de la maquette du nouveau centre qui hébergera Héma-Québec sur le campus de l'Université Laval. Cet édifice construit par le consortium Merlin-Pomerleau au coût de 13 935 000$ regroupera l'ensemble des activités de l'organisme dans la région de Québec. L'Université Laval a cédé, par bail emphytéotique de 30 ans, le terrain d'une superficie de 7 300 mètres carrés situé au Sud-ouest du pavillon Ferdinand-Vandry.

  • Cet été, Héma-Québec invite 91 000 donneurs à faire une halte pour la vie

    Montréal, le lundi 2 juin 2003

    La population est invitée à donner généreusement du sang entre le 2 juin et le 7 septembre prochain. Pour répondre aux besoins en composants sanguins des patients des hôpitaux québécois durant la période estivale, Héma-Québec espère accueillir quelque 91 000 donneurs de sang. Sous le thème Cet été, nous serons sur votre route, l'équipe d'Héma-Québec ira à la rencontre des vacanciers afin de les accueillir dans le cadre des 500 collectes mobiles organisées avec les partenaires de la communauté partout en province.

  • Héma-Québec invite la population à donner du sang

    Montréal, le lundi 26 mai 2003

    La population est invitée à donner généreusement du sang dans le cadre des collectes qui auront lieu ce lundi 26 mai. En effet, Héma-Québec tient à préciser que la grève de 24 heures annoncée pour le lundi 26 mai ne touche pas tous ses employés. Les membres du personnel concernés sont les aides de collectes et les chauffeurs de Montréal qui comptent 210 personnes parmi les 1 280 employés d’Héma-Québec. De plus, Héma-Québec étant soumise à la Loi sur les services essentiels, 80 % des aides de collectes et des chauffeurs seront tout de même en poste le lundi 26 mai. Les autres employés affectés aux collectes de sang ne sont pas membres du même syndicat et ne sont pas en grève. Ainsi, tous les infirmiers et les infirmières seront présents pour accueillir les donneurs de sang.

  • Le 23 mai 2003, Héma-Québec célèbre la Journée mondiale du don de sang

    Montréal, le 23 mai 2003

    Fournisseur de sang du Québec, Héma-Québec célèbre aujourd’hui la Journée mondiale du don de sang. Cette journée dédiée vise à souligner l’importance du don de sang, liquide précieux et unique.

  • Le virus du Nil occidental : Héma-Québec annonce les mesures qu’elle met en place pour assurer la sécurité de la réserve de sang des patients québécois

    Montréal, le mardi 20 mai 2003

    Héma-Québec a mis au point un test permettant la détection directe du virus du Nil occidental (VNO) dans le sang de tous les donneurs. En effet, un test PCR, développé par le groupe de Recherche & développement d'Héma-Québec, sera utilisé à compter du 9 juin prochain, et ce, jusqu'à la mise en place du test de Roche Diagnostics prévue pour le 1er juillet. Ces deux tests s'inscrivent dans le cadre d'un plan d'action qu'a développé Héma-Québec pour contrer les effets du VNO sur la réserve de sang des Québécois.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC met en demeure la CSN

    Montréal, le 13 mai 2003

    Héma-Québec vient de signifier deux mises en demeure : une première, à Monsieur Arthur Sandborn, président du Conseil central du Montréal métropolitain (CCMM-CSN) et la seconde, à Madame Lise Pariseau, présidente du Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses d'Héma-Québec.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC subit avec succès l'inspection annuelle de son établissement de Montréal

    Montréal, 7 avril 2003

    Héma-Québec a une fois de plus subi avec succès son inspection annuelle. En conséquence, les inspecteurs de la Division de la réglementation des établissements de sang (DRES) - un organisme de Santé Canada - ont reconduit la licence d'exploitation d'Héma-Québec. Cette visite annuelle de vérification des procédés s'est déroulée du 10 au 14 mars 2003 à son établissement de Montréal.

  • HÉMA-QUÉBEC et Sainte-Justine conjuguent leurs expertises pour mettre sur pied un programme québécois de banque publique de sang de cordon

    Montréal, 29 janvier 2003

    Héma-Québec et le Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte Justine annoncent aujourd'hui la préparation d'un programme québécois de banque publique de sang de cordon. Le sang de cordon peut être utilisé afin de réaliser des greffes médullaires chez des patients atteints de maladies autrement mortelles. L'objectif de ce programme est d'offrir une accessibilité accrue au sang de cordon aux enfants du Québec, y compris ceux des minorités ethniques, en attente de greffe de moelle osseuse. Il s'agira de la première et unique banque publique de sang de cordon au Québec.

  • Mise au point d'Héma-Québec

    Montréal, le 28 janvier 2003

    Dans le cadre du renouvellement des conventions collectives avec ses huit syndicats d'employés, Héma-Québec et les représentants syndicaux ont entrepris, au printemps 2000, une négociation par intérêts.

  • La campagne du temps des fêtes d'HÉMA-QUÉBEC : un franc succès

    Montréal, 6 janvier 2003

    Quelque 28 000 personnes ont accepté l'invitation d'Héma-Québec à l'effet de donner du sang pendant sa campagne du temps des fêtes qui a eu lieu du 2 décembre 2002 au 5 janvier 2003. Il s'agit d'un franc succès, car cette participation représente presque 98 % de l'objectif visé en début de campagne soit 28 600 donneurs.