Blood components usage

Essential adjuvant treatment

Transfusion constitutes an adjuvant treatment that is essential for the survival of thousands of patients. A transfusion is a medical procedure that consists in injecting blood or a blood component intravenously. The quantity of blood to be transfused depends on the patient’s needs. Doctors prescribe the blood components required for stabilizing and improving their patients’ health. In the Québec blood management system, hospital centres are responsible for transfusion quality.

Many diseases and surgical procedures require one or even several transfusions. These include:

  • Hemophilia: a congenital disease affecting blood coagulation, caused by a deficiency of a coagulation factor such as factor VIII or factor IX . Hemophiliacs, almost exclusively male, suffer from recurrent bleeding which can be spontaneous or the result of an injury.
  • Leukemia: a cancer of the blood characterized by the presence of cancerous cells in the bone marrow, where all blood cells are produced. This interferes with the production of red blood cells and platelets. Leukemia patients receive many transfusions in order to increase the number of blood cells in the body. Some patients may require a bone marrow transplant in order to survive.
  • Surgery (for example, orthopedic, cardiovascular, plastic and transplant surgery): Many major surgeries require a transfusion. The type of operation and the patient's condition determine the amount and which blood components will be transfused. Héma-Québec allows patients who are healthy enough to bank their own blood before an operation. This is called an autologous donation.
  • Accidents or trauma/shock: These situations can provoke a harmful and even fatal lack of blood in the body. The human body contains between five and six litres of blood. When an adult loses more than two litres of blood, he or she must be given sufficient quantities of packed red blood cells and plasma. A shortage of blood in the body can be harmful, even fatal. If the patient's condition is too critical to wait for packed red blood cells of the same blood type, doctors administer "universal donor" type O-negative blood.
  • Serious burns: The degree and size of the burn, and the part of the body affected determine the type of treatment. The more serious the burn, the greater the need for a transfusion.

You may also one day need blood or blood components. If and when you do, rest assured that the technology in this field has evolved tremendously.

Transfusion of blood components

Each blood component has a specific purpose. Today’s technology and knowledge allow us to separate whole blood into its various components. In this way, the doctor transfuses only the blood component that a patient needs. Whole blood is rarely transfused. This lets us maximize the use of human blood, which is such a vital resource.

Red blood cells
A transfusion of red blood cells serves to re-establish the patient’s volume of cells after an accident-related hemorrhage, thereby allowing for an increase in the oxygen-carrying capacity of the blood. A red blood cell transfusion also serves to treat chronically anemic patients whose bone marrow is not able to produce red blood cells in sufficient quantity.

Plasma
Among its other uses, plasma is transfused to correct deficiencies in clotting factors and to treat shock due to a loss of plasma following severe burns or massive hemorrhages.

Platelets
Platelets are indispensable for blood clotting. For this reason, we can understand their importance for patients suffering from serious wounds, severe hemorrhaging, aplastic anemia, leukemia and cancer. Platelets are necessary for the health and survival of these patients.

Did you know that . . .

  • Every day, hundreds of Quebecers receive blood transfusions.
  • Nearly one Quebecer in seven has already had a transfusion.
  • One Quebecer in three has a relative who has received a transfusion.
  • Every 80 seconds, someone needs blood in Québec.
  • Every year, some 80,000 patients receive blood products in Québec.

Utilisation du sang

Traitement d’appoint essentiel

La transfusion sanguine constitue un traitement d'appoint essentiel à la survie de milliers de personnes. Une transfusion est un acte médical consistant à injecter du sang ou un composant sanguin par voie intraveineuse. La quantité de sang à transfuser dépend des besoins du malade. Ce sont les médecins qui prescrivent les composants sanguins requis à la stabilisation et à l'amélioration de la santé de leurs patients. Dans le système de gestion du sang au Québec, les centres hospitaliers sont imputables de la qualité de la transfusion.

Un grand nombre de maladies et d'interventions chirurgicales nécessitent une, voire de multiples transfusions, incluant les suivantes :

  • Hémophilie : maladie héréditaire de la coagulation du sang où il y a déficience de facteurs de coagulation (par exemple, facteur VIII, facteur IX). Les hémophiles, presque exclusivement des hommes, souffrent d'hémorragies récidivantes spontanées ou après une blessure.
  • Leucémie : cancer des cellules du sang caractérisé par la présence de cellules cancéreuses dans la moelle osseuse, endroit où se forment toutes les cellules sanguines. La production de globules rouges et de plaquettes est alors perturbée. Le patient recevra plusieurs transfusions afin d'augmenter le nombre de ces cellules sanguines. Pour certains malades, la greffe de moelle osseuse peut s'avérer nécessaire à la survie.
  • Chirurgie (par exemple, orthopédique, cardiovasculaire, plastique et greffe) : Le type d'intervention chirurgicale et la condition du malade déterminent le composant sanguin et la quantité à transfuser. Héma-Québec offre la possibilité aux personnes qui le peuvent physiquement de donner de leur propre sang avant leur opération. On appelle ce genre de don de sang, le don autologue.
  • Accidents ou traumas/chocs : Ces situations peuvent provoquer un manque de sang dans le corps néfaste et même mortel. Lorsqu'il y a perte de plus de deux litres de sang chez un adulte (le corps humain contient de cinq à six litres), la personne doit recevoir une quantité suffisante de globules rouges et de plasma. Lorsque la condition du patient est trop critique pour attendre des produits de son groupe sanguin, les médecins transfusent du sang du groupe O-, qui peut être utilisé pour tout receveur.
  • Grands brûlés : Le degré de la brûlure, son importance en superficie et la partie du corps affectée déterminent la nature du traitement. Plus la brûlure est importante, plus il devient nécessaire de recevoir une transfusion.

Vous pourriez vous aussi avoir besoin de sang ou de composants sanguins un jour. Si tel est le cas, soyez assuré que la technologie en ce domaine est, aujourd'hui, très évoluée.

Transfusion de composants sanguins

Chaque composant du sang présente une utilité particulière. La technologie et les connaissances d'aujourd'hui permettent de transformer le sang total en ses divers composants. Ainsi, le médecin ne transfuse au malade que le composant sanguin dont il a besoin; on transfuse rarement du sang total aux malades. On arrive donc à maximiser l'utilisation de cette ressource vitale qu'est le sang humain.

Globules rouges

Une transfusion de globules rouges sert à rétablir la masse globulaire du patient après une hémorragie liée à un accident; ceci permet une augmentation de la capacité du transport en oxygène. Une transfusion de globules rouges sert également à traiter l'anémie chronique chez des patients dont la moelle osseuse est incapable de produire des globules rouges en quantité suffisante.

Plasma

On transfuse du plasma, entre autres, pour corriger des déficiences en facteurs de coagulation et pour traiter des chocs en raison de pertes de plasma à la suite de brûlures graves ou d'hémorragies massives.

Plaquettes

Les plaquettes comptent parmi les éléments indispensables à la coagulation du sang. On comprend donc toute leur importance pour les malades qui souffrent d'une blessure grave ou hémorragie importante, d'une aplasie, de leucémie et de cancer. Les plaquettes sont nécessaires à leur santé et à leur survie.

Saviez-vous que…

  • Tous les jours, des centaines de Québécois reçoivent des transfusions sanguines.
  • Près d’un Québécois sur sept a déjà reçu une transfusion.
  • Un Québécois sur trois sait qu’un de ses proches a reçu une transfusion.
  • Toutes les 80 secondes, quelqu’un a besoin de sang au Québec.
  • Chaque année, quelque 80 000 personnes reçoivent des produits sanguins au Québec.